Heisman Trophy awarded today

Overview of 58th annual presentation

When: Today, 3:30 p.m.


Where: Downtown Athletic Club, New York

TV: NBC, 3:30 p.m. (or after conclusion of Buffalo-Denver NFL game, also on NBC)


Hosts: Jim Lampley, O. J. Simpson

Voters: 918 total, including 870 media members (145 in each of six geographic sections) and 48 former Heisman winners

Last year's winner: Michigan flanker Desmond Howard, by the second-largest margin in history, over quarterback Casey Weldon of Florida State

Leading candidates

Gino Torretta, Sr., QB, Miami: Most valuable player for the No. 1-ranked team in the country. Threw for 3,060 yards and 19 touchdowns, including key TD pass to Lamar Thomas in 19-16 win over Florida State Oct. 3. Miami (11-0) is 26-1 with Torretta as the starter.

Marshall Faulk, Soph., RB, San Diego State: Would be the firssophomore to win the Heisman. Led the nation with an average of 163 yards per game, finishing with 1,630 yards. Missed last game of season against Miami, billed as Heisman showdown against Torretta, but averaged 234.3 yards and scored 11 TDs against Top 25 teams UCLA, Southern Cal, Brigham Young and Hawaii.

Garrison Hearst, Jr., RB, Georgia: Rushed into the Heismapicture with several big midseason games, but faltered in crucial loss to Florida that cost Bulldogs a chance to play Alabama in the SEC title game. Finished with 1,547 yards, an average of 141 yards per game. Led the nation in scoring with 21 touchdowns.

Other candidates


Reggie Brooks, Sr., RB, Notre Dame: Finished with 1,343 yards on 167 carries, including 227 yards in season-ending win over USC.

Marvin Jones, Jr., LB, Florida State: Probably the best defensive player in the country; regarded as the fiercest hitter in the college game.

Micheal Barrow, Sr., LB, Miami: Probably the best of Miami's three NFL quality linebackers.

What others are saying

Dennis Erickson, Miami coach: "There's no question that [Torretta] is deserving of the Heisman Trophy. I don't know that there's anybody at his position playing better than he is."

Al Luginbill, San Diego State coach: "If the Heisman Trophy is team award, then Gino Torretta should get it. If the Heisman is to be awarded to the best college football player in the country, which I think it is, then there is no question that Marshall Faulk should win it."


Lynn Swann, former Steelers great: "Garrison Hearst iphenomenal. He has so many moves, if you blink twice, you might miss four or five of them and he'll be in the end zone."