All-Stars shine bright at Hopkins

Maryland's best female high school field hockey players showed off their skills last night in the second annual Maryland State High School Field Hockey Senior All-Star games at Johns Hopkins University's Homewood Field.

More than three dozen players from the Baltimore Metro area were divided among the four teams.


Harford County players helped the East beat the West, 3-1, in the first game.

In the second, Anne Arundel County and Association of Independent Schools players led the South to a 2-1 victory over the North. Baltimore County and Carroll County stars were on the North team.


For many of the players, it was a thrill just to play on the Homewood Field turf.

"This is the game I've waited my whole life to play," said Fallston's Jenny Haslbeck, an East defender.

The East moved the ball well on the turf, setting up many opportunities for its forwards. The East might have had an even bigger lead, but two shots into the cage were called back for dangerous plays.

More local girls played in the North-South game.

Southern's Karen Mauck scored the game winner on a pass from Old Mill's Kerith Spicknall with 6:39 left in the game.

After a scoreless first half, the South scored first on a goal by Arundel's Amy Lettis.

Westminster's Tinah Houck tied the game on a corner play a few minutes later. Houck hammered in a corner pass from Pikesville's Payton Goldman.

Those named outstanding players by teams were: South Carroll's Patti Duffy for the North, Lackey's Christine Satterfield for the South, Rising Sun's Paula Beaudette for the East and keeper Leslie Brown, of T.S. Wootton, for the West.


Also among the local girls selected for the East team: Tracey Folck, North Harford; Melody Doran, Aberdeen; Julie Jakum, C. Milton Wright; Lauren Morris, Queen Anne's; and Meghan Coakley, St. Mary's. Meade's Leah Rexroad was the only local player on the West squad.

On the South squad: Heather Knutson, Annapolis; Mandy Gilbert, John Carroll; Monica Gibson, Chesapeake-AA; Karen Mauck, Southern; Tracy McGarry, Severna Park; Mary Sears, South River; Jeanne Lekin, Roland Park; Amy Hennessey, North County; Amy Lohrig, Chesapeake-BC; Karen Chesley, Broadneck; and Engina Simpson, Oldfields.

On the North team: Crissy Naurot, Francis Scott Key; Andrea Bridges, Patapsco; Natalie Thingelstad, Dulaney; Christine Chon, Loch Raven; Sayshan Conver, Howard; Shelly Reichl, Liberty; Beth Bernhardt, Towson; Erin Ward, Perry Hall; Karen Mayernick, Spalding; Elizabeth Crooks, Franklin; Mandy Miller, Oakland Mills; and Emily Fair, North Carroll.