Republican committee elects new chairman

Attorney Allan Kittleman of Ellicott City was elected chairman of the Howard County Republican Central Committee recently.


Mr. Kittleman succeeds Carol Arscott, who stepped down as chairwoman after serving five years in that post. Ms. Arscott will remain on the committee.

LaRue Poyer of Woodbine was elected to replace Mr. Kittleman as vice chairman and was also re-elected treasurer. William Thies of Columbia was re-elected secretary.


Howard lawmaker receives award

The Howard County section of the National Council of Jewish Women recently bestowed its highest award to Howard state Del. Virginia M. Thomas. Mrs. Thomas received the Hannah G. Solomon Award Nov. 8 during a commemoration of the local group's 20th anniversary at The Columbia Inn. The Solomon Award is given periodically to a woman in Howard who is an advocate for women, children and families of all races.

Delegate Thomas, a District 13A Democrat, is vice chairwoman of the Environmental Matters Committee, which handles health issues that affect women. She has been a member of the House of Delegates since 1983. The National Council is America's oldest Jewish women's volunteer organization and has a membership of approximately 100,000.

Madden appointed to council task force

The American Legislative Exchange Council has named Howard County Del. Martin G. Madden to its Real Estate, Banking, and Financial Services Institutions Task Force.

Mr. Madden's first task force meeting will be Dec. 10 in Washington, D.C.

Delegate Madden, a 13th District Republican, represents Howard and Prince George's counties. He was first elected in 1990.