School employees recognized for outstanding workThe Carroll...

School employees recognized for outstanding work

The Carroll County Board of Education has honored these public school employees:


* Robert Bastress, Liberty High School principal, for being elected president of the Maryland Association of Secondary School Principals for the 1992-1993 school year.

* Kelly Baxter, chemistry teacher at North Carroll High School, and James Gilford, biology teacher at Westminster High School, for accepting the Environmental Education Curriculum Award from the Maryland Department of the Environment to the Carroll County Public Schools for curriculum efforts.


* Supervisor of Home Economics Marjorie Lohnes; home economics teachers Janice Byrd, Sykesville Middle School; Judith Geiman, Westminster High School; Carolyn Lawton, Francis Scott Key High School; and Joanne Neil, Liberty High School, for writing the curriculum guide, "Living on Your Own."

The book received a second-place award from the Council on Home Economic Education in Maryland. Mrs. Geiman received a first-place award in the high school division from the Council for Teaching Economics in Maryland Schools.

* James Doolan, supervisor of transportation; Harry Fogle, supervisor of special education; William Hyde, assistant superintendent of administration; Kathleen Sanner, assistant in facilities; and Vernon Smith, director of school support services, for completing Maryland Association of Boards of Education Legal Services Association seminars.

* Joan Harrington and Beverly Moore, home economics teachers at Westminster High School, for advising the school's chapter of Future Homemakers of America.

The chapter last spring won a community service award at the Maryland Association of FHA/Home Economics Related Occupation state conference.

Students recognized for writing efforts

Carroll County students who competed in a variety of statewide activities sponsored by the Maryland State Department of Education, American Legion and the Vocational Industrial Clubs of America have been recognized for their achievements at Liberty High School.

The 1992 winners of the Maryland You Are Beautiful Literacy Writing Contest sponsored in conjunction with the Maryland State Department of Education, were:


* Amy Ratajczak, a 1992 graduate, Westminster High School, winner for high school.

* Matt Laczkowski, ninth grade, Westminster High School, winner for middle school.

* Jessica Grimes, 6th grade, East Middle, upper elementary school winner.

* Jonathan Hively, 3rd grade, Robert Moton Elementary, lower elementary school winner.

This year's Boys' State program was held at Western Maryland College for one week. Boys' State is a program designed to develop good citizenship and leadership qualities in young men and an understanding of how the democratic system functions.

These participants were selected by the American Legion:


* Francis Scott Key High School: Steven Hoare and Richard Hooper II.

* North Carroll High School: Andrew Kiler and Andrew Smith.

* South Carroll High School: Matthew Crill, Richard Crowe, Matthew Green, Henry Oswald, Todd Parks, Donny Pyles and George Weisenborn.

* Westminster High School: John Grantland.

Washington College in Chestertown was the site for the Girls' State program. Participants are selected by the American Legion Auxiliary on the basis of leadership, character, honesty, physical fitness and cooperativeness.

Carroll participants were:


* Francis Scott Key High School: Jennifer Baker, Robin Carroll and Aslynn Hinkle.

* North Carroll High School: Elizabeth Piper and Ki-Lynn Smith.

* South Carroll High School: Julie Hart, Margaux Locklear and Nicole Robitaille.

* Westminster High School: Sara Bloom, Bonnie Geiman and Beth Richardson.

The National Vocational Industrial Clubs of America Skill Olympics were held in Louisville, Ky., June 24-28. These students won awards:

* Liberty High School: Ben Eyster, a 1992 graduate, second place, plumbing.


* North Carroll High School: Mark Mosley, senior, second place, residential wiring.

* South Carroll High School: Heather Fitzgerald, a 1992 graduate, first place, practical nursing.

Scholarship winners named at high schools

Six graduating seniors from county high schools and the Carroll County Career and Technology Center were selected to receive Commissioners' Student Leadership Scholarship awards.

The recipients are:

* Nichole M. Brecker, Eldersburg, Liberty High School.


* Laurie A. Fender, Keymar, Francis Scott Key High School.

* Christopher R. Kulla, Westminster, South Carroll High School.

* Nicole C. Maus, Manchester, North Carroll High School.

* Moonjung Nam, Finksburg, Westminster High School.

* Staci D. Ridgely, Westminster, Career and Technology Center.

Information concerning scholarship application for the 1993-1994 academic year will be available in area high school guidance offices in January or call 876-9600.