ANNAPOLIS/SOUTH COUNTY -- Davidsonville * Edgewater * Shady Side * Deale

Annapolis mayor returning to work

Annapolis Mayor Alfred A. Hopkins says he feels fit, well-rested and ready to return to work full time next week.


"I feel like a million," said the 67-year-old mayor, who underwent triple bypass heart surgery last month. He was busy catching up with paperwork yesterday, sporting a blue suit and tie and looking relaxed.

Mr. Hopkins had a health message for the city's youth -- give up bad habits now.


"You can't undo the damage you did for years before," said the mayor, who started smoking at age 11 but quit in December 1990.

He said he avoids alcohol, eats healthily and walks three miles a day. He used to jog until he became mayor. But he said his years of smoking and eating junk food as a youth caught up with him.

Mr. Hopkins, who returns to work full time Monday, also had a message for his political opponents. He said he plans to beat them all in his run for re-election.

Schoolchildren injured in traffic accident

Fourteen South County school children escaped with only minor injuries Wednesday when their school bus hit a back hoe that had fallen off a trailer on Central Avenue in Edgewater.

County police said William S. Ayers, 25, was driving a dump truck towing a trailer with a back hoe north on Solomons Island Road when he turned onto Central Avenue too quickly. The chains holding the back hoe snapped, and the machine fell onto the road in front of the school bus, which was heading east.

The children were treated for minor injuries at Anne Arundel Medical Cetner and released.

Mr. Ayers was charged with failure to reduce speed.


St. Mary's announces new school officers

St. Mary's Elementary School in Annapolis has announced the student council officers and class representatives for the 1992-1993 school year.

The officers are Molly Lingoski, president, from class 8B; Katie Robinson, vice president, 7C; Mary Marino, secretary, 6B; David Covington, treasurer, 8A; Katie Kreidler, secre

tary of school spirit, 8C; Sarah Tengwall, secretary of student activities, 7B; Tiffany Schummer, secretary of public relations, 7A; Tim Shanley, secretary of religious affairs, 6A; and Courtney Wasowski, secretary of ecology and safety, 6C.

The class representatives are Kelly Motley, from class 5A; Brendan Kelly, 5B; B. J. Donovan, 5C; Katie Doran, 4A; Michael Glennon, 4B; and Brandon Wode, 4C.