Early bird tickets for Baltimore’s BEST party on sale now!

UNC-Greensboro is right for Big South


No, that wasn't North Carolina-Charlotte being added to the Big South Conference, as reported in The Baltimore Sun last week. Along with Towson State and UMBC, the Big South's other newcomer next September will be UNC-Greensboro.

Towson State's bid for a fourth straight conference title in men's basketball can't be stopped by UNC-Charlotte, which is staying in the Metro Conference. UNC-Greensboro, meanwhile, has just one year's experience in Division I, and though it won't be eligible for basketball honors until 1994-95, the Spartans immediately add to the Big South's stature in soccer.

UNC-Greensboro won the NCAA Division III title five times from ++ 1982 to 1987, then moved up to Division II in 1988. Last year was its first in Division I, and Towson State coach Frank Olszewski said the inclusion of the Spartans will boost the Big South's chances of getting an automatic bid to the NCAA tournament.

"From our standpoint, it's great to have them," said Olszewski, whoseTigers have won or shared the East Coast Conference title the past three years. "The better the competition, the better we'll be."

* Balance pays off: UMBC didn't win a single championship in its two years in the East Coast Conference, but the Retrievers had )) enough strength across the board to win the first -- and probably last -- President's Cup for overall excellence.

The Retrievers were second to Rider in the Men's Commissioner's Cup, which weighs performance in all sports, and trailed Buffalo and Towson State in the Women's. The President's Cup combined the two standings, and UMBC was a surprised recipient.

The Northeast Conference combines men's and women's performance in its Commissioner's Cup. Mount St. Mary's was second to Fairleigh Dickinson. Essex won the President's Cup ++ given to the top junior college program in the state.

* Division III contingent: At least seven state athletes are in Waterville, Maine, competing in this week's NCAA Division III track and field championships.

Frostburg State qualified decathlete Brian Olson and its 4x10relay. Steve Forman, a sophomore from Francis Scott Key High, is in the 200, and Kevin Kanyan, a sophomore from McDonough High in Charles County, has a javelin best of 200 feet, 7 inches. Tim McCrary has a best of 14.5 in the 110 hurdles, and John Jones qualified in the 400 hurdles.

Sylke Knuppel, a Johns Hopkins junior out of Glenelg High who reached 157-11 at the Penn Relays, is in the women's javelin. Western Maryland's Kent Lightbourn was a provisional qualifier in the men's 400.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad