Full coverage: Mayor Pugh's 'Healthy Holly' books, UMMS board deals

Crofton residents elect 13 members to board Dosek unopposed in bid for another term


In an election focusing on growth, incorporation and covenant enforcement, Crofton residents chose 13 Crofton Civic Association board members Monday, including an incumbent president for another two-year term.

President Ed Dosek, who won a bitterly contested election in 1990, ran unopposed, as did Ken Folstein, incumbent director of recreation and youth, Ed Ganing, a newcomer in District 6, Jim Collett, incumbent director of public safety, and Dennis Stackhouse in District 4.

As president, Dosek said he hopes to acquire new athletic fields, maintain the special tax district's common areas and protect the environment, in particular the Patuxent River watershed.

Two to four candidates vied for the same seat in each of eight contested races for district directors and other jobs.

Vice president John Maloney retained his seat, beating challenger Keith O'Kelly, 281 to 117.

And former board president Cathy Trebelhorn, who lost to Dosek two years ago, edged District 2 incumbent Wes Coghill, 39 to 31. Trebelhorn works as a legislative assistant to Delegate Marsha G. Perry, a Crofton Democrat.

In the three-candidate race for secretary, Becky Daniel garnered 169 votes, narrowly beating Martin Szostek, who came away with 152 votes. Jack Zwirn trailed with 114.

In all, 25 people ran for 13 board positions. Some 445 registered members of the civic association cast ballots, said Barbara Swann, comptroller.

Other winners included Jon Grant, director of planning and zoning, with 201 votes to Randy Holt's 149; incumbent Marcia Richard, director of education and civic affairs, with 265 votes to Linda VanSickel's 164; and Arlo Pedersen, who won the District 1 seat with 52 votes. Pedersen beat Kaye Callahan, with 33 votes, Kathleen Brennan, with 12 votes, and James Overmier, with 11 votes.

In District 3, incumbent Kathy Puhak, who reversed her original decision not to seek another term, won again, with 84 votes to challenger John Morone's 61. Morone ran on a ticket for vice president with Trebelhorn two years ago.

Mary Feeley brought in 34 votes to win the District 5 seat over Robert Darrow, with 27 votes.

During the next two years, Dosek, an adjunct law professor at Anne Arundel Community College, said the board will consider whether to incorporate.

Members also plan to keep an eye on proposed developments that could increase traffic, such as Crofton Farms, a 722-home planned unit development rejected by the Board of Appeals earlier this week, Dosek said.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad