Crofton voters to elect 13 members to board


Crofton residents will head to the polls this afternoon and evening to elect representatives to 13 board positions on the Crofton Civic Association.

Voters will be able to cast ballots at Crofton Elementary School from 4 to 9 p.m. At 7:30 p.m., a general membership meeting has been scheduled to vote on a proposed set of bylaw revisions.

Three candidates, including incumbent President Ed Dosek, are running unopposed for their two-year terms. The other two are Ken Folstein, current director of recreation and youth, and Ed Ganing, a newcomer running in District 6.

This year's election -- for six neighborhood representative positions and seven offices -- promises none of the bitterness and rhetoric that surrounded the election two years ago, when Dosek won a hotly contested race.

In that election, Dosek beat Cathy Trebelhorn, who is running this year against incumbent Wes Coghill in District 2. Trebelhorn's running mate two years ago for vice president, John Morone, is running against incumbent Kathy Puhak in District 3.

In all, 25 people are seeking positions, including a former assistant state's attorney, a local antique store owner and a partner in a Washington architectural firm.

The major issues this year include covenant enforcement, growth and incorporation.

Any Crofton resident who is a registered member of the civic association can vote. Residents can register at the polls by filling out an application and showing a photo ID.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad