AACC fetes athletic award winners


Anne Arundel Community College announced its athletic award winners at a banquet Wednesday evening on the Arnold campus.

The female scholar-athlete award-winners were Amy Hopkins and Barbara King.

Hopkins, a South River graduate, has played volleyball for two years and majors in general studies. She will attend St. Mary's College in the fall.

King, a Chesapeake graduate, played soccer and softball, and majors in health and physical education. She will attend Salisbury State University.

The male scholar-athlete award winners were tennis player Steve Woodall (Chesapeake) and two-sport standout Andy Srebroski (Northeast).

Woodall is a general studies major who also will receive the Region XX academic-athletic award.

Srebroski played basketball and baseball in college and was drafted last June by the Toronto Blue Jays organization.

Nikki Beall was chosen Outstanding Female Athlete after starring in soccer, basketball and softball. She also was selected Most Valuable Player in softball, while Kathy Green and Devon Reardon were chosen Most Improved, and pitcher Amanda Bates was named Unsung Hero.

In men's lacrosse, Duncan Green and Nick DiMauro were chosen Most Valuable Players. Derek Green was tabbed Most Improved, and George Ash was named Unsung Hero.

In women's lacrosse, Tracy Tobin was named Most Valuable Player, Christine Cade and Christie Griffith were chosen Most Improved, and Hope Schied was selected Unsung Hero.

In golf, Scott Boyd was named Most Valuable Player, Ron Getek was Most Improved and Chris Haag was Unsung Hero.

In men's basketball, Ray Osborne was Most Valuable Player, Mike Davis was Most Improved and James Sharps Unsung Hero.

In women's basketball, Katie Laidley was named Most Valuable Player, Stacey Dent was chosen Most Improved and Sarah Krucoff was selected Unsung Hero.

Outstanding Male Athlete and baseball honors will be announced later.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad