'Jelly,' 'Crazy' jam the top of the list of Tony nominees


In the richest Broadway season in recent years, the two biggest new musical hits predictably roared off with the lion's share of Tony Award nominations -- 11 for "Jelly's Last Jam" and nine for "Crazy for You."

But the nominations, announced yesterday in New York, also snubbed several new plays, bypassing such established playwrights as Herb Gardner, Alan Ayckbourn and Neil Simon in favor of two short-lived shows -- Richard Nelson's "Two Shakespearean Actors," a historical account of a rivalry between 19th century actors, and John Guare's "Four Baboons Adoring the Sun," a family drama set at an archaeological dig.

Of course, since these two are no longer available for viewing, their chances would appear to be slim. Instead, the real race will be between "Two Trains Running," the 1960s installment of August Wilson decade-by-decade chronicle of 20th century black American life, and Irish playwright Brian Friel's evocative memory play, "Dancing at Lughnasa," which captured eight nominations -- more than any other dramatic entry.

An equal number of nominations went to "Guy and Dolls," the odds-on favorite for best revival.

An interesting -- but coincidental -- side note to the best musical competition is that three of the four nominees are jazz shows. Besides "Jelly's Last Jam," a musical biography of Jelly Roll Morton, and "Crazy for You," a reworking of the 1930 Gershwin hit, "Girl Crazy," the list also includes "Five Guys Named Moe," a small-scale salute to 1940s band leader Louis Jordan.

The final musical nominee is "Falsettos," a combined bill of two one-act William Finn musicals about families, homosexuality and AIDS. Because it is the only entirely original musical entry, "Falsettos" was also the most obvious nominee for best score. Its competition will be two shows that also closed prematurely -- the Polish import "Metro" and "Nick & Nora," which canceled pre-Broadway runs at the Mechanic Theatre two years in a row, then folded eight days after its official New York opening.

Filling out the best score category is "Jelly's Last Jam," which qualified due to the inclusion of some new music and lyrics.

Area audiences were able to get advance looks at several nominees this season. Both "Two Trains Running" and "Crazy for You" had Washington tryouts. The latter has a further area connection since Ken Ludwig -- nominated as author of the musical's script -- is a Washington attorney.

In addition, though it was passed over for best play, Israel Horovitz's "Park Your Car in Harvard Yard" -- the sole pre-Broadway show to play the Mechanic this season -- is represented by the nomination of actress Judith Ivey. Opera singer and Baltimore native Spiro Malas, who made a well-regarded Broadway debut in the revival of "The Most Happy Fella," was overlooked in the nominations.

The 46th annual Tony Awards will be telecast live on CBS (WBAL-TV, Channel 11) on May 31 at 9 p.m. Glenn Close, winner of a 1984 Tony Award and a nominee this year for her starring role in Ariel Dorfman's "Death and the Maiden," will be host for the ceremony.

Tony Award nominees

The following are the Tony Award nominations for Broadway's 1991-'92 season:

Play: "Dancing at Lughnasa," Brian Friel; "Four Baboons Adoring the Sun," John Guare; "Two Shakespearean Actors," Richard Nelson; "Two Trains Running," August Wilson.

Musical: "Crazy for You," "Falsettos," "Five Guys Named Moe," "Jelly's Last Jam."

Revival: "Guys and Dolls," "The Most Happy Fella," "On Borrowed Time," "The Visit."

Actor, play: Alan Alda, "Jake's Women"; Alec Baldwin, "A Streetcar Named Desire"; Brian Bedford, "Two Shakespearean Actors"; Judd Hirsch, "Conversations With My Father."

Actress, play: Jane Alexander, "The Visit"; Stockard Channing, "Four Baboons Adoring the Sun"; Glenn Close, "Death and the Maiden"; Judith Ivey, "Park Your Car in Harvard Yard."

Actor, musical: Harry Groener, "Crazy for You"; Gregory Hines, "Jelly's Last Jam"; Nathan Lane, "Guys and Dolls"; Michael Rupert, "Falsettos."

Actress, musical: Jodi Benson, "Crazy for You"; Josie de Guzman, "Guys and Dolls"; Sophie Hayden, "The Most Happy Fella"; Faith Prince, "Guys and Dolls."

Book, musical: "Crazy for You," Ken Ludwig; "Falsettos," William Finn and James Lapine; "Five Guys Named Moe," Clarke Peters; "Jelly's Last Jam," George C. Wolfe.

Score, musical: "Falsettos," William Finn, music and lyrics; "Jelly's Last Jam," Jelly Roll Morton and Luther Henderson, music, Susan Birkenhead, lyrics; "Metro," Janusz Stoklosa, music, Agata and Maryna Miklaszewska and Mary Bracken Philips, lyrics; "Nick and Nora," Charles Strouse, music, Richard Maltby Jr., lyrics.

Director, play: Peter Hall, "Four Baboons Adoring the Sun"; Patrick Mason, "Dancing at Lughnasa"; Jack O'Brien, "Two Shakespearean Actors"; Daniel Sullivan, "Conversations With My Father."

Director, musical: James Lapine, "Falsettos"; Mike Ockrent, "Crazy for You"; George C. Wolfe, "Jelly's Last Jam"; Jerry Zaks, "Guys and Dolls."

Featured actor, play: Roscoe Lee Browne and Larry Fishburne, "Two Trains Running"; Zeljko Ivanek, "Two Shakespearean Actors"; Tony Shalhoub, "Conversations With My Father."

Featured actress, play: Brid Brennan, Rosaleen Lineham and Dearbhla Molloy, "Dancing at Lughnasa"; Cynthia Martells, "Two Trains Running."

Featured actor, musical: Bruce Adler, "Crazy for You"; Keith David, "Jelly's Last Jam"; Jonathan Kaplan, "Falsettos"; Scott Waara, "The Most Happy Fella."

Featured actress, musical: Liz Larsen, "The Most Happy Fella"; Tonya Pinkins, "Jelly's Last Jam"; Vivian Reed, "The High Rollers Social and Pleasure Club"; Barbara Walsh, "Falsettos."

Scenic design: John Lee Beatty, "A Small Family Business"; Joe Vanek, "Dancing at Lughnasa"; Robin Wagner, "Jelly's Last Jam"; Tony Walton, "Guys and Dolls."

Costume design: Jane Greenwood, "Two Shakespearean Actors"; Toni-Leslie James, "Jelly's Last Jam"; William Ivey Long, "Crazy for You"; Joe Vanek, "Dancing at Lughnasa."

Lighting design: Jules Fisher, "Jelly's Last Jam"; Paul Gallo, "Crazy for You" and "Guys and Dolls"; Richard Pilbrow, "Four Baboons Adoring the Sun."

Choreography: Terry John Bates, "Dancing at Lughnasa"; Christopher Chadman, "Guys and Dolls"; Hope Clarke, Ted L. Levy and Gregory Hines, "Jelly's Last Jam"; Susan Stroman, "Crazy for You."

A special Tony Award for continued excellence by a regional theater: the Goodman Theatre of Chicago.

Copyright © 2021, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad