State's senior wrestlers are in spotlight tonight


Tonight at Johns Hopkins, the Maryland State Wrestling Association is sponsoring its sixth annual Senior All-Star Wrestling Classic.

The event, which begins at Johns Hopkins' Newton H. White Athletic Center at 7:30, pits the best senior wrestlers in each of the 13 weight classes from all public school classifications as well as those from Maryland Scholastic Association and independent schools.

In last year's classic, the MSA-Independents captured seven gold medals to defeat the Class 4A-3A and 2A-1A squads for the first time. Also, the 4A-3A classification, which had won three times, finished last for the first time.

The 4A-3A contingent will be looking to regain the top spot behind wrestlers such as Randallstown two-time state champion Mike Jenson (171, 33-0), Broadneck state champion Shawn Miller (119, 35-0) and Bel Air's Scott Birth (125, 24-0), who pulled the upset of the Class 4A-3A state meet last weekend by beating Paint Branch two-time state champion Craig Middledorf, 10-2.

Jenson is likely to face Mardela's two-time Class 2A-1A state champion Ishmael Smith (29-0), and Miller's primary foe should be Bullis National Prep tournament champion Chad McCullough of the MSA-Independents.

Birth handed North Carroll state tournament runner-up Andy Rill (30-2) one of his losses earlier this year, and Rill will be looking to even the score.

The MSA-Independents' National Prep champion John Kim of Gilman (135, 36-0) will likely meet North Carroll's state champion Tom Dell (29-1), whose only loss came in overtime to Kim during the regular season.

Another key bout for the defending champions should feature St. Mary's Phil MacWilliams (130, 32-6) against Frederick Douglass Class 4A-3A state champion Kyantae Hawkins (30-5-1) and Class 2A-1A's Jason Draper of Smithsburg, who placed third in the state.

North Harford's Marc Perrine (160, 32-1) split bouts with Owings Mills' two-time state champion Grant Johnson and was undefeated until losing to Johnson in the state title bout. He'll try to get back on track against Bullis' Joe Horwat, the top-ranked 160-pound wrestler, who was third in the National Prep tournament.

"If past history is any indication of what we can expect, tomorrow night should offer some of the most exciting, hard-fought matches of this or any year," said MSWA chairman Haswell Franklin.


ACC preview: Atlantic Coast Conference basketball fans will want to see this year's 19th annual Capital Classic on April 9 at 8 p.m. at Cole Field House.

The U.S. squad will feature six ACC-bound players, including Duke-bound Chris Collins, the son of former NBA standout Doug Collins.

The 6-foot-3 guard averaged 32 points for Glenbrook (Ill.) High.

Other ACC recruits competing are: Scott Shepherd, a 6-2 guard from Indiana headed for Florida State; Ed Geth, a 6-4 forward from Norfolk, Va., who will attend North Carolina; Matrice Moore, a 6-8 forward from Virginia headed for Georgia Tech; Charles Kornegay, a 6-9 forward, and Todd Fuller, a 6-10 center, both from North Carolina and headed for North Carolina State.

The most notable member of the U.S. squad probably is Jason Kidd, the 6-4 defensive-minded guard from California, who will attend the University of California.

Kidd is one of four McDonald's All-Americans selected to compete for the U.S. All-Stars. The other McDonald's All-Americans are Collins, Moore and Greg Simpson, a 6-2 guard from Ohio who will attend Ohio State.

Washington area fans will get their first look at Yinka Dare, a 7-0, 265-pound center from Nigeria who has signed with George Washington. Dare attends Milford Academy in Connecticut.

The roster for the Capital-area all-stars will be released later this week. It will include three Baltimoreans -- Donta Bright and Michael Lloyd of Dunbar and Kwame Evans of Southern.

This year marks the first time Baltimore has placed three players in the Capital Classic.

Tickets are on sale at all TicketMaster outlets, including Hecht's and the University of Maryland Student Union. Tickets are priced at $8 (students), $10 and $13. Net proceeds from this year's game will benefit the Children's National Medical Center. Over the past 18 years the game has raised more than $600,000 for charity.


Ehrmann to speak: Former Baltimore Colts defensive end Joe Ehrmann will be the featured speaker at the 28th annual Scholar-Athletes Awards Dinner tomorrow at Martin's West.

The event, sponsored by the Greater Baltimore Chapter of the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame, will honor 90 of the top scholar-athletes from high school football teams in Baltimore, Anne Arundel, Baltimore, Carroll, Howard, Harford and Frederick counties.

For ticket information, call (410) 337-8086.


Overtime: Wilde Lake soccer M Matt Nesbitt, an All-Metro selection by The Baltimore Sun and Hammond S Jackie Reischick, also an All-Metro pick, have signed letters of intent with George Washington University. . . . Wilde Lake LB Brent Guyton, who has signed with UCLA, has been named the Baltimore-area Player of the Year by Thom McAn Shoe Co. Guyton is eligible for the company's national award, and Wilde Lake will receive a $1,000 scholarship in Guyton's name.

Copyright © 2020, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad