Samuel L. Banks, executive director, division of...


Samuel L. Banks, executive director, division of instruction, Baltimore City Public Schools, has been appointed to the National Council for History Standards. The council will serve as the policy-setting board that will oversee the development of the National History Standards Project, now funded to develop "World Class" achievement standards in history for the nation's schools from the elementary through high school levels.

Victoria Szabo, an English/drama teacher at Mount de Sales Academy, was awarded a Governor's Citation for dedication to her students.


Harry Smith, professor and chairman of the Department of Human Services, New Community College of Baltimore, was named winner of the Employee Excellence Award for the full-time faculty category, and Dr. Lawrence Sears, professor of business administration at the college, won the award for the part-time category. Both men received a $500 cash prize and other honors.


fTC Loretta J. Wells, a student at the New Community College of Baltimore and member of the Army Reserves, has been awarded the 1st Sgt. Vernon Z. Johns Memorial Scholarship established by the Baltimore Chapter 451, Vietnam Veterans of America.


Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad