Open for businessFriedman & Kline, a law...


Open for business

Friedman & Kline, a law firm in Reisterstown, was opened by Jeffrey L. Friedman and Robert L. Kline III at 100 Owings Court, Suite 13.

Family Ties Inc., a company that researches family descendants, was opened in Baltimore by David E. Scott.

New accounts

Commercial Insurance Managers of Columbia is providing a property and liability insurance program for the Howard County Urban Rural Transportation Alliance.

Mousepad Graphics, a division of Philip Willen Associates Group Ltd. in Baltimore, produced a print advertising and direct mail campaign for Flowers by Penny Lane, a floral design and gift shop in Reisterstown.

Maryland National Bank won the cash depository and processing business for Super Fresh supermarkets.

Earle Palmer Brown Food Group, an Atlanta, Ga.-based division of Earle Palmer Brown in Bethesda, is producing a marketing campaign for McCormick & Co. Inc. that is targeted to the food service industry.

The Bomstein Agency, a Washington-based advertising agency, is doing advertising work for DeCaro Real Estate Auctions Inc. in Seaford, Del., and Dale City, a planned community in Prince William County, Va.

Trade organizations

Appraisal Institute, Maryland Chapter, elected Terry R. Dunkin president, Jeanne L. Chandler vice president, Harold C. Powell secretary and Stephen H. Mueller treasurer.

National Aggregates Association named Francis H. Chaney II to the board of directors. Mr. Chaney is president of Chaney Enterprises in Waldorf.

American Association of State Compensation Insurance Funds named Donald W. Potter president. Mr. Potter is superintendent of the Injured Workers' Insurance Fund in Towson.

Maryland/District of Columbia Minority Supplier Development Council recently formed a Senior Executive Officer's Advisory Committee.

Public service

Richard G. McAlee was named president of the Maryland chapter of Asthma and Allergy Foundation. Mr. McAlee is a partner in the health care law department of Weinberg & Green.

Carl R. Hildebrand was named to the Maryland Affiliates Budget and Finance Committee of the American Heart Association. Mr. Hildebrand is a partner in McLean, Koehler, Sparks & Hammond, a regional accounting and business consulting firm.

Woodbourne Center Inc., a private non-profit organization for children and adolescents with emotional or learning disabilities, elected the following officers to the board of trustees: William Daniel White, vice president of Whiting-Turner Contracting Co., chairman; Thomas V. Monahan, partner with Goodell, DeVries, Leech & Gray, treasurer; Pamela F. Corckran, chairman of the Governor's Council on Adolescent Pregnancy, secretary; Carl William Struever, president of Struever Bros., Eccles & Rouse Inc., member-at-large; Susan DiCamillo, a child and volunteer advocate, vice chairman; Yolanda Grissom, program facilitator for Baltimore City Public Schools, vice chairman; Therese Jezioro, a management consultant, vice chairman of finance; Michael T. Maguire, partner with Daft-McCune and Walker, vice chairman of buildings and grounds; and Stephen M. Silvestri, partner with Semmes, Bowen and Semmes, vice chairman of development.

Craig T. Smith was named chairman of the solicitation committee for the Shock Trauma fund-raising gala that will be held May 9 at Towson State University. Mr. Smith is executive vice president of MBNA America Bank.

National Multiple Sclerosis Society, Maryland Chapter, appointed the following to the board of trustees: Richard H. Trainor, chairman; Elliott Neal White, first vice chairman; James W. Motsay, second vice chairman; Bonnie K. Heneson, secretary; and Robert W. Fedo, treasurer.

Stuart D. Kaplow was elected chairman of the board of directors for Prologue Inc., a non-profit organization that provides rehabilitation services for residents of northwest Baltimore County who are recovering from mental illnesses.

Schapiro Training and Employment Program, an employment program for people with psychiatric disabilities, named the following to the board of directors: David Schapiro, Bernard Schapiro, Janet Hoffman, Evelyn McElroy and Margie Warres.

Harvey M. Newman was appointed to the Healthcare Task Force of the International Group of Accounting Firms. Mr. Newman is an officer in the accounting and management consulting firm, Grabush, Newman & Co.

Stephen A. Burch was named to the Essex Community College Foundation Board. Mr. Burch is area vice president of Comcast Cable Television in Timonium.

World Trade Center Institute, an organization that helps companies develop international businesses, elected the following directors to the board: Dr. James J. Albrecht, vice president and managing director, International Group, McCormick & Co. Inc.; George Beall, managing partner of the Baltimore law office of Hogan & Hartson; Peter A. Bowe, president of the Dredge Division of Ellicott Machine Corp.; James T. Brady, managing partner of the Baltimore office of Arthur Andersen and Co.; Robert G. Neubert, managing parter of Ernst & Young in Baltimore; Wilbert H. Sirota, chief operating partner and chairman of the International Law Group of Frank, Bernstein, Conaway & Goldman; David R. Stone, group vice president and president of the international division of Black & Decker Corp.; and Jack T. Tymann, president and general manager of Westinghouse Electronic Systems Co.

Robert W. Schaefer was elected to a three-year term on the board of directors of the Y.M.C.A. of Greater Baltimore. Mr. Schaefer is executive vice president and chief financial officer of First National Bank of Maryland.

Pride of Baltimore Inc., the organization that operates the state's goodwill ship, elected the following to the board of directors: Daniel R. Baker, president and chief executive officer of Tate Access Floors Inc.; Kevin G. Byrnes, president and chief executive officer of Chase Bank of Maryland; Michael J. Davies, publisher and chief executive officer of The Baltimore Sun; David M. Gillece, consultant to the law firm Patton, Boggs and Blow; Henry R. Lord, partner with the Baltimore law firm, Piper & Marbury; Thomas D. Lowdermilk, Baltimore accountant; Charles E. Partridge Jr., partner with Maguire, Woods, Battle & Boothe in Baltimore; E. Magruder Passano Jr., vice chairman of the board of Waverly Inc. in Baltimore; and Alan C. Villaverde, vice president and general manager of Stouffer Harborplace Hotel in Baltimore.

James J. Datovech was elected to the board of directors of The Maryland School for the Blind in Baltimore. Mr. Datovech is mid-Atlantic district manager for Amdahl Corp. in Washington.

Robert L. Mead was named managing director of the Maryland Coalition Against Regressive Taxation. Mr. Mead is president of Smith Mead & Associates Inc., a Baltimore-based management consulting firm.

Arthritis Foundation, Maryland Chapter, elected the following to the board of directors: Cynthia L. Baker, a physical therapist in Timonium; Lucia Briggs, president of By Design; Raymond A. Downs, vice president for student affairs, Johns Hopkins Medical Institution; Dr. Barry Handwerger, professor of medicine and head of the Division of Rheumatology and Clinical Immunology, University of Maryland School of Medicine; Dr. David B. Hellmann, associate professor of medicine, The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine; Leo J. Knighton, accountant with Peroutka & Gilwee in Towson and James L. Shea, attorney with Venable, Baetjer and Howard.

Kevin G. Byrnes was elected president of the board of trustees of the Baltimore City Life Museums. Mr. Byrnes is president and CEO of Chase Bank of Maryland.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad