Danielle Barbour, of Forest Hill, was selected to attend the National Young Leaders Conference, being conducted through today in Washington.

Having demonstrated academic achievement, leadership and citizenship, Danielle is among 350 outstanding high school students from across the nation at the conference, which is sponsored by the Congressional Youth Leadership Council.


Highlights of Danielle's week in Washington have included a paneldiscussion led by prominent journalists at the National Press Club and remarks from members of Congress on the floor of the U.S. House ofRepresentatives.

Also on her agenda were visits with Sens. Barbara A. Mikulski and Paul S. Sarbanes, and Representative Helen Delich Bentley.


Culminating the conference will be the "Mock Congress on Gun Control," during which students assume the roles of U.S. lawmakersby debating, lobbying and voting on proposed handgun legislation.

Founded in 1985, the council is a non-profit, non-partisan educational organization committed to recognizing outstanding youth like Danielle and providing them with a "hands-on" civic learning experience inthe nation's capital.


Employees of the U.S. Army Chemical Research, Development and Engineering Center's Research Directorate recently were honored for their contributions.

Receiving performance awards were David H. Anderson, William P. Ashman, Dennis M. Davis, Robert W. Doherty, George R. Famini, Donald Fielder, Alice M. Harper and Joseph Huerta.

Also recognized were Robert T. Kroutil, S. Randolph Long, Alexander P. Mickiewicz, Lester L. Miller,William T. Muse, Alan T. Seitzinger, Donald B. Shoff, Leonard J. Szafraniec and Joseph D. Williams Jr.

Thirteen employees were recognized for special act awards, including Albert J. Barnes, Beth A. Beyer, Amnon Birenzvige, Cpt. Christopher Cramer, Susan F. Hallowell, Raymond E. Herd, Jan E. Kolakowski, Patricia A. LaGrange, Irwin Master, Harry Salem, Pamela M. Serino, Eugene L. Vickers and Frank G. Werede Jr.

Promoted in the directorate were Trina F. Dowell, Donald Fielder, Joseph L. Hill and S. Randolph Long.


Recognized for 30 years ofservice was Elwin C. Penski; 25 years of service, Frank G. Werede Jr.; 15 years, Orazio I. Sindoni; and 10 years of service, Amnon Birenzvige and Carl W. Kurnas.


Seven Army officersat the U.S. Army Chemical Research, Development and Engineering Center have been recognized for their contributions to Operations Desert Shield and Desert Storm.

The Army Commendation Medal was presentedto 1st Lt. Shelton Davis and Capt. Daniel Keehan.

The Department of the Army recognized Davis for "meritorious service as project manager for the biological agent warning system." Keehan was recognized by the Army for his meritorious achievement with the 490th Chemical Battalion.

Capt. John Murphy, commander of the Headquarters and Headquarters Company at CRDEC, was presented the Certificate of Achievement from the U.S. Army Central Command in recognition of his contributions to Operation Desert Shield and Desert Storm.


Capt. Lloyd E. Plume was presented with the Meritorious Service Medal for his "exceptionally meritorious service as officer-in-charge of the XM-2 fieldingteams."

Captains Paul Nagy, Christopher Ross and Thomas Shea wererecipients of the Certificate of Achievement from USA Army Central Command, 22nd Support Command, for their contributions to Operations Desert Shield and Desert Storm.


The Bel Air Athletic Club has named Lynne Thackston as the employee of the quarter.

Thackston, a five-year employee of the club, teaches water aerobics, aerobics, Wonder Kids and assists on the fitness floor.

She received a certificate of appreciation and a $100 cash award.


Alsoannounced were the top 10 employees as chosen in a member survey. They are: Lynne Thackston, Sue Gent, Eugenia Hawley, DiAnne Lockerman, Coan Thomas, Kelly Marecki, Bob Martindale, Rhonda Ludwig, Cindi Galland and Ken Jones.

Each honored employee received a top-10 lapel pin and a certificate of appreciation. More than 980 members respondedto the survey, and 66 staff members were cited for providing superior service.


Col. C. C. Smith was named deputycommander of the U.S. Army Chemical Research, Development and Engineering Center, headquartered in the Edgewood Area of Aberdeen Proving Ground.

He was commissioned a second lieutenant as a distinguishedmilitary graduate and awarded a bachelor of science degree in biology from East Tennessee State University, Johnson City, Tenn., in 1964.He also earned a master of science degree from Purdue University anda certificate of advanced study from the Johns Hopkins University. He is graduate of the Army Command and General Staff College, and the Army Chemical Officer Basic and Advanced Courses.

His military decorations include the Bronze Star, Meritorious Service medal with fiveoak leaf clusters, the Army Commendation Medal with two oak leaf clusters and the Army Achievement Medal.


He and his wife, Robin, reside in the Edgewood area of APG.


Charlotte Molerhas joined the Hirsch Eye Group as director of patient and public relations.

A resident of Bel Air, Moler will coordinate public relations for the ophthalmology practice.

Moler formerly managed the Harford Dance Theatre, in residence at Harford Community College, and is a member of the advisory board for the Phoenix Festival Theater. She also is active in the Baltimore Public Relations Council.