Freed and Associates, an advertising and marketing...


Freed and Associates, an advertising and marketing communications company, recently moved to 3600 Clipper Mill Road, Suite 220, in Baltimore.

Horizon Health and Rehabilitation moved from North Ridge Road in Ellicott City to the Dorsey Hall Professional Park at 5010 Dorsey Hall Drive in Ellicott City.

Lynch Road Ltd. Partnership bought the 2.76-acre Bowl America property at 7909 Wise Ave. in Dundalk to develop the site into a mixed-use commercial development to be called the East Side Business Center.


Kamanitz, Uhlfelder & Permison, a Baltimore-based accounting firm, was named one of 50 distinguished firms for 1991 by CPA Digest.

Glen E. Gordon, professor of chemistry at the University of Maryland at College Park, won the 1991 American Chemical Society Award for Creative Advances in Environmental Science and Technology for his development of a procedure that identifies the sources of particles in the air.

New accounts

Abramson Associates Inc., a Washington-based advertising, marketing and public relations firm, is representing Shannon & Luchs/Scheer Partners, a commercial real estate brokerage firm.

Maleson Advertising Inc. in Owings Mills is developing a marketing plan for R&H; Motors Ltd. in Owings Mills and producing print and broadcast advertising for their Toyota and Mercedes automobiles.

The Bomstein Agency, a Washington-based advertising agency, is representing Fairway homes, a home builder in Leesburg, Va.; Heritage Consulting Group, a real estate asset management company; and Potomac Investment Associates in Potomac and Bethesda.

Parks and Ottenheimer Advertising in Baltimore is producing an advertising and communication campaign for the law offices of Goodman & Goodman.

Public service

The Chimes Inc. re-elected the following officers: Joel Margolis, chairman; Terry Allen Perl, president; C. Edward Feete, vice chairman; Albert Hyatt, treasurer; Cecil S. Fox, secretary. Elected to the board are: Huell Connor Jr.; Timothy Casgar; Andrea Krupp; James Buxbaum and Stephen S. Kramer. Elected to the advisory board are: Huell Connor Jr., chairman; Timothy Casgar, vice chairman; George D. Edwards II; Lois Rosenfield; Edwin Warfield IV; Andrea Krupp; Herbert S. Garten; Mary Anne Heckwolf; Alexander Karpinski; Michael Klein; Holland P. Meads; James Buxbaum; Ronald L. Kaufman; Judy Letcher; Stephen S. Kramer; John Wilson; and John P. Shobert.

Commercial and Farmers Bank elected Howard E. Harrison III to the board of directors. He is president of Marina Development Corp.

The Advertising and Professional Club of Baltimore elected the following officers: Sheldon G. Dagurt, president; Kip Mandris, past president; Ronald J. Mullen, first vice president; Herbert S. Kasoff, second vice president; Joseph T. Fetcho, treasurer; Sam J. Costa, secretary; Benjamin R. Civiletti, general counsel; Rev. Joseph A. Sellinger, S.J., chaplain. Elected to three-year terms are: Warren Bloomberg, Clarisse B. Mechanic and Henry A. Rosenberg Jr. Elected to one-year terms are: Marcellus Alexander, Robert C. Embry, Terri Ezrine, John W. Felton, Harlow Fullwood Jr., S. L. Hammerman II, Francia F. Johannson, Gerald M. Kavanagh, Leroy S. Kirby Sr., Arnold J. Kleiner, William H. Mauldin, David R. Millard, Lourdes S. Morales, John A. Nethen, Annette Paterakis, Tucky P. Ramsey, Martin R. Resnick, Lois Rosenfield, Mary Ann Saar, Koula Savvakis. Honorary governors include: Meyer Caplan, W. Terrell Fulton, George W. Gephart, W. Thomas Gisriel, I. H. Hammerman II, Clyde S. Hartlove, James H. Lindsay, Marshall M. Meye, Donald D. Pomerleau, Howard J. Scaggs, Frederick K. Schloss, Edward J. Vinnicombe Jr. and Samuel Winik.

Goucher College elected the following officers: Florence Wagner Abshire, Maxine Bigby Cunningham of Baltimore, Jonah J. Goldberg, Nancy Stern Karetsky and Anica Donnan Rawnsley.

Baltimore Association for Retarded Citizens Inc. named James F. Rosner president. Mr. Rosner is a partner in the law firm of Whiteford, Taylor and Preston, P.A. It also elected BeBe Kernan to the board. Mr. Kernan is senior vice president of Data Chromatics Inc.

The Baltimore County Chamber of Commerce named Jay R. Fries vice chairman, small business for the 1991-1992 fiscal year. Mr. Fries is a partner in the law firm of Kruchko & Fries.

The Baltimore Chamber Orchestra elected the following officers: president, Jonathan D. Rogers; vice presidents, Barbara Fritze and Paul T. Reamer; treasurer, Christopher C. Adler; secretary, Susan R. Palmer. New board members are: John G. Moran, Carol L. Hirschburg, Cary Smith and Harriette Ambach.

ReVisions Inc., a non-profit psychiatric rehabilitation center in Catonsville, elected Martin Conover to the board of directors. He is a senior vice president of International Mortgage Corp.

The Bryn Mawr School elected the following board members: Dr. Paul H. Chew, cardiologist and assistant professor at Johns Hopkins Hospital and Francis Scott Key Medical Center; Richard J. Himelfarb, executive vice president and director, Legg Mason Inc.; John A. MacColl, senior vice president and general counsel, USF&G; Mary Sue McCarthy, president of McCarthy Communications Inc.; Peggy Mock Obrecht, director of church relations for the United Holocaust Memorial Council and a chaplain at Johns Hopkins Hospital; Betsy Baumgartner, faculty representative; and Deborah Kurz, president of the Parents Association.

The Baltimore County of Commerce elected Charles E. Herget Jr. chairman of the board; William J. Crowley Jr. senior vice chairman, administration; Robert L. Cook vice chairman, membership development and retention; William E. Franswick, vice chairman, legislative affairs; Jay R. Fries, vice chairman, small business; Thomas V. Murphy, vice chairman, strategic planning; Daniel R. Paterson, vice chairman, business development; Terry M. Rubenstein, vice chairman, human resources; John F. Gaburick, treasurer; Milton R. Smith Jr., legal counsel; and George H. Mantakos, vice chairman of the chamber's leadership program. Michael J. Chesser will serve as immediate past chairman. Re-elected officers are: Mr. Franswick; John J. Pauliny; Ms. Rubenstein; and Donald W. Thurlow Jr., publisher, suburban editions of The Baltimore Sun. New members are: Kevin G. Byrnes and Mr. Fries.

Young Audiences of Maryland elected the following to the board of directors: Thomas L. Williams, president; Michael L. Mark and E. Scott Johnson, vice presidents; Elizabeth Todd Lambert, treasurer; Ellen C. Ehrlich, assistant treasurer; Helen Schlossberg-Cohen, recording secretary; Dorrie S. Rubin, corresponding secretary. Re-elected to the board are: Sharon Goldstein; James E. Lewis; Carlton W. Molette; and Suzanne R. Sherwood. Newly elected members are: Jeff J. Johnson; Kathleen Nash Lockhart; Eric M. Pripstein; and Gail H. Sanders.

The Baltimore County General Hospital Foundation elected John P. Miller to the board. Mr. Miller is an account executive with Riggs, Counselman, Michaels & Downes Inc.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad