Schaefer fills economy panel's roster


ANNAPOLIS -- Gov. William Donald Schaefer filled out the membership of his new Commission on Economy and Efficiency in Government yesterday with names that include some of his longtime associates and advisers.

On Aug. 7 the governor named former Chesapeake & Potomac Telephone Co. chief J. Henry Butta, a longtime confidant, to head the commission, but he delayed the naming of its other 11 members.

Yesterday, he said that they will include Walter Sondheim, retired chairman of Baltimore's downtown redevelopment agency and for years an adviser to Mr. Schaefer and other city mayors; Marion W. Pines, who headed job training and housing forMr. Schaefer when he was mayor; former Baltimore County Executive Donald P. Hutchinson, now president of the Maryland Chamber and Economic Development Associates Inc.; Henry A.

Rosenberg Jr., board chairman of Crown Central Petroleum Corp.; and former U.S. Sen. J. Glenn Beall Jr., a Republican from Western Maryland.

Also named were: George L. Bunting Jr., former chief executive officer of Noxell Inc.; David Falk, a former staff budget adviser to Mr. Schaefer who was appointed as a "citizen at-large member"; John Green, executive vice president with Medlantic Healthcare Group; Charles Jenkins Sr., president of Bay Shore Development Corp. of Ocean City; Edward Lewis, president of St. Mary's College; and Robert J. Mulligan, vice chairman and chief administrative officer of Woodward & Lothrop.

Mr. Butta, who also chairs the Maryland Higher Education Commission, said the commission hopes to hold its first meeting within the next 10 days.

He said that it intends to forward a preliminary report to the governor no later than Dec. 14.

Another progress report is scheduled for March, he said.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad