KudosBaltimore Gas & Electric Co. received a...



Baltimore Gas & Electric Co. received a Governor's Citation from Gov. William Donald Schaefer for contributing to an educational video to combat the problem of drug abuse in the workplace.

The State of Maryland has been awarded The Certificate of Achievement for Excellence in Financial Reporting by the Government Finance Officers Association of the United States and Canada.

New accounts

The Mechanical Contractors Association of Maryland, Inc. elected Gary M. Saxon, zone operations manager for the York International Corp., president; Ronald J. Wontrop, operations manager with Johnson Controls Inc., vice president; Lennart M. Shawker, treasurer and comptroller of Riggs Distler & Co., was re-elected secretary-treasurer. The following were elected to the board: C. Russell Conklin, Power & Combustion Inc.; Thomas A. Gorman III, T. A. Gorman Inc.; Albert G. Reed, Reed & Reed Inc.; J. Wm. Eggleston Jr., Riggs Distler & Co.; John F. Fischer, J. F. Fischer Inc.; and Michael C. Forti, Songer Corp.; Raymond C. Jung, Poole & Kent Co.; John G. Martin Jr., J. G. Martin Co.; and Frederick L. Matusky, Flo-Tron Contracting Inc.

Trade organizations

Maryland Hospital Association's Board of Trustees elected Frederick O. Mitchell vice chairman. Mr. Mitchell is a managing partner of F. O. Mitchell & Brother Inc. in Perryman, and chairman of the board of directors of the Upper Chesapeake Health System


The Francis Scott Key Chapter of the American Business Women's Association elected Nancy VanSant president; JoAnn Hogan, vice president; Janice Chase, recording secretary; Bernice Turner, correspondence secretary; and Joyce Minnick, treasurer.

The Maryland Chapter of the Healthcare Financial Management Association elected Robert A. Chrencik president; Joseph Smith, president-elect; Timothy Kares, vice president; William Wojcik, secretary; and Richard Jones, treasurer.

Open for business

Weinstock, White & Associates, a Memphis, Tenn.-based advertising agency, will open an office in Baltimore to service the newly acquired account of 350 Hardee's outlets in the Baltimore-Washington area.

Integrated Health Services Inc. of Hunt Valley opened three new Medical Specialty Units at Ballard Convalescent Center, Quail Creek Rehabilitation Center and at Alpine Hershey. The company also announced that the fiscal year end has been changed from June 30 to Dec 31.

Montgomery Ward & Co. will open a full-line specialty store at Security Square Mall. The new store will replace the one at Rolling Road and U.S. 40 in Catonsville.

Sherry Christhilf, former director of the Sales and Rental Gallery-The Baltimore Museum of Art, is offering art consultation services specializing in contemporary art, installation and framing at 4201 Linkwood Road, Baltimore.

Public service

The Greater BWI Commuter Transportation Center in Hanover has been awarded a $60,047 grant to help start a "Guaranteed Ride Home" program which provides free emergency rides home by taxi or rental cars for bus, train, carpool or vanpool commuters in the airport area.

Leadership Howard County awarded the Howard Community College Educational Foundation a $2,250 grant to its scholarship fund. Proceeds from the scholarship will be awarded annually to an HCC student involved in community service.

On the board

Baltimore County General Hospital elected the following to the board of trustees: Florence H. Deitz re-elected as chairman; Stephen G. Weiss, 1st vice president; Martin E. Dannenberg, 2nd vice president; Eugene Friedman, Esq., treasurer; and Larry G. Rank, secretary.

McCrone Inc., an engineering, environmental consulting, land planning, and surveying firm in Prince Frederick, elected William R. Watson to board of directors. Mr Watson is the vice president of McCrone's southern region and owner of Design Teams Inc. and McCrone Inc.

Cardinal Gibbons School elected Robert E. Pezzoli to the board. Mr. Pezzoli is vice president of St. Agnes Hospital.

The Council of Economic Education in Maryland appointed James D. Shaw to its board of governing trustees. Mr. Shaw is senior vice president of The Baltimore Sun.

Goodwill Industries of America Inc. elected T. Talbott Bond of the T. Talbott Bond office products company to the board of directors and director of the GIA International Foundation.

The Baltimore Public Relations Council elected the following to the board of directors: Harry Bosk, president; Phyllis Hersh, vice president; Cathy Bowers, recording secretary; Elaine Foard, membership secretary; and Linda Klein, treasurer.

The Epilepsy Association of Maryland, Inc. elected the following to the board of directors: Chris Beecy, Parke-Davis Pharmaceuticals; Jeffrey A. Bond, CIBA-GEIGY Pharmaceuticals; Ron Cherry, Redmond, Cherry and Burgin, attorneys at law; Robert M. Connor Jr., Locust Industries; H. Martin Fetsch, C. W. Amos & Co.; Jackie Hutchinson, Maryland Medical Labs; Pat Lowman, John's Italian Deli; Darlene Metzler, Seton Hill Manor; Liz Savage, Disability Rights Education & Defense Fund Inc. Board members Barbara Cysyk, RN, BSN of Johns Hopkins Hospital and Michael T. Bornemann of East Baltimore Resources received EAM's 1991 Outstanding Public Education Volunteer award for their efforts in educating the public about epilepsy.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad