Matthew John Ciarpella, son of Mr. and...


Matthew John Ciarpella, son of Mr. and Mrs. John Ciarpella, was selected as Ideal Curley man of the Year for 1991 for his academic and athletic achievements at Archbishop Curley High School. Mr. Ciarpella also won the Archbishop Curley scholar-athlete award which includes a $1,000 scholarship. He will be attending UMBC in the fall on an athletic scholarship.

Sister Rosemarie Nassif, S.S.N.D., has been named an American Council of Education (ACE) fellow for the 1991-'92 academic year. Sister Rosemarie, executive vice president of the College of Notre Dame, will spend the year at Bryn Mawr College in Pennsylvania in an administrative capacity.

August Volunteer of the Month has been named by the Central Maryland Red Cross. Logging over 500 hours of service since September, Nancy Civin of Mount Washington has been cited for her work as team leader for the Information and Referral team in the Holocaust and War Victims Tracing and Information Center, where she researches civilians who were separated from their families in WWII.

The Arnold Women's Club has awarded scholarships to two Arnold residents: Stacy D. Schroeder, a 1991 graduate of Broadneck High School who will study prenursing at UMBC, and Diane D. Crowley, a master's degree candidate in counseling/psychology at Bowie State College. Both will receive

Rachel Glick, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Leonard Bloom of Owings Mills, has graduated summa cum laude from the University of Massachusetts with a B.A. in classics and psychology. Ms. Glick is a member of Psi Chi, the National Honor Society of Psychology. She will pursue graduate studies at Harvard University in the fall.

Three educators at Towson State University have been honored. Frances T. Bond, associate dean of the College of Education, has been elected president of the Maryland Association of Colleges for Teacher Education. Dr. Edward W. Holmes, professor of elementary education, has been appointed executive secretary of the Maryland Association of Supervision and Curriculum Development. Dr. Ellen Notar, associate professor of general education, has been appointed by Gov. William Donald Schaefer to serve one year on the Maryland State Board of Education's Professional Standards Board.

Youth For Understanding has awarded scholarships to two Baltimore City College High School students to study abroad this year. Aaron Becker will live with a host family in Japan for the summer. Jerome Berrigan will spend the year in Germany where he will live with a host family and attend school.

Irby Cole, of Finksburg, has been awarded the Outstanding Teaching Excellence Award by Carroll Community College. Mr. Cole, professor of art at the college, is known for his work with students and the community, particularly his Childrens Arts Education Scholarship Program, formed to educate children in the arts.

Phil and Kay Lanasa have been named winners in the national Take Pride in America contest for their volunteer work in the George Washington National Forest. Using photography, multimedia and puppets, they work to educate the public in environmental awareness. The Lanasas are Baltimore natives.

Charles M. Brown III, chairman of the Physical Education division Anne Arundel Community College, will be inducted into the Western Maryland College Sports Hall of Fame Nov. 16, 1991. Mr. Brown, a Western Maryland alumnus, has run the baseball program at AACC for nearly 20 years, winning seven conference championships, two Region XX titles, two District titles and third place in the 1974 National Junior College Athletic Association National Baseball Tournament. One of his players, Craig Wilson of the St. Louis Cardinals, made it to the major leagues.

Copyright © 2020, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad