Evening Sun wins six firsts in state journalism contest Newspaper honored for news and feature stories, headlines photos.

The Evening Sun has won six first-place awards in the annual "Excellence in Journalism" Contest sponsored by the Maryland Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists.

The first-place awards in the division for daily newspapers with more than 100,000 circulation went to Marina Sarris, Monica Norton, Richard Irwin, Jacques Kelly, Thomas W. Waldron and Alisa Samuels, breaking news; Joe Nawrozki, general reporting; Carl Schoettler, feature reporting; Vida Roberts, best headline, and artist John Camejo, illustration.


Mark Bomster won the the AAA Steering Wheel Award for writing about traffic safety. This award was open to all divisions of the contest.

The six-reporter team won in breaking news for their coverage of the John Thanos murder case. Thanos was charged with killing three teen-agers.


Nawrozki won for "Urban Combat," a two-part series on Green Beret doctors working at the Shock-Trauma Unit in Baltimore.

Schoettler's first was for "Marylandscapes," a series of human interest feature stories that ran in the summer of 1990 "on people and places that give the state its character."

Roberts won the headline-writing competition for "Unsuitable?" a headline on a story about bikini swimwear.

Camejo won the illustration category for "Dinner Party From Hell," which appeared in a Food Section front page.

Bomster's winning entry was for a three-part Page 1 series, "High-Speed Crashes." He received $300 from the Automobile Club of Maryland, the only cash prize given in the competition.

The Evening Sun won four second-place awards:

* Mike Klingaman, public service, for "High Hurdles," a series on

the disparity of spending on girls sports vs. boys sports in city high schools.


* Joan Jacobson, business reporting, for "Gold Coast," a series on development of high-priced housing along the Baltimore waterfront.

* Steve Andrulonis, best headline, for "Just a couple of upright guys."

* John Anderson, artist, illustration, for a "Baseball Extra" cover.

* Bo Rader, photographer, general reporting photography, for "Cocaine Trail," a series of pictures to accompany a series on the trafficking of cocaine from Central America.

The Sun won eight first-place awards in the competition and one of its first-place winners was judged best in show from entries in all divisions.

Suzanne Wooton won the public service category for "Trapped in Line," a three-part series on drug treatment in Maryland. The entry also was judged as best-in-show.


Other Sun first-place winners were Roger Simon, column writing; Michael Ollove, Gelareh Asayesh, Luther Young, William F. Zorzi Jr. and Richard Sia, investigative reporting; David Conn, business reporting; Bill Glauber, sports reporting; Mike Littwin, sports commentary; Garland Thompson, editorial/commentary; and J.D. Considine, arts and entertainment.

Sun second-place winners were:

Kathy Lally, Will Englund and Martin Evans, breaking news; a James Bock and Deborah Greene entry and an entry by Wooton (tie), general reporting; Ollove, feature reporting: Alice Steinbach, column writing; Zorzi, investigative reporting; Glauber and Mark Hyman (tie), sports reporting; John Eisenberg, sports commentary; Stephen Hunter, arts and entertainment; David Simon, general reporting magazine; and Patrick McGuire, human interest magazines.

The Anne Arundel County Sun, a suburban edition of the Baltimore Sun, won five first-place awards in the category for daily newspapers with circulation of less than 100,000.

Those winners were Kris Antonelli, breaking news; Gary Gately, public service; Roch Eric Kubatko, sports reporting; Phil Greenfield, arts and entertainment; and Rob Snyder, cartooning.

The Anne Arundel County Sun received four second places.


Suburban editions in Howard and Carroll counties won eight first places in the division for weekly newspapers with more than 100,000 circulation.

The winners included:

Lorraine Mirabella, Howard County Sun, public service; Joanna Daemmrich, Steven T. Groft, John A. Morris, Adams Sachs, Susan White-Bowden, Jackie Powder and Edward H. Shur, Carroll County Sun, investigative reporting; Erik Nelson, Howard County Sun, business reporting; Shur, Carroll County Sun, editorial/commentary; Marc Legoff, Howard County Sun, arts and entertainment; Rob Snyder, Howard County Sun, cartooning; Shur, Carroll County Sun, graphic design; and Jed Kirschbaum, Howard County Sun, photography general reporting.

In this category, two second places went to the Carroll County Sun and three to the Howard County Sun.

The Harford County Sun entry by Carol Bowers, Dan Clemens, Alan Craver, Dave Herzog and Mark Guidera won a first place in the public service category in the division for weekly newspapers with less than 100,000 circulation.

The awards were presented at a dinner at the Marriott Hunt Valley Inn.