Gov. William D. Schaefer is inviting state employees to participate in the fourth annual state employees photography competition, titled "Get Some Exposure."

The contest is sponsored by the "Maryland Youare Beautiful" Program, the Maryland Department of Transportation, the Governor's Press Office and Ritz Camera Centers Inc.


The competition, which is open to all current state employees, begins July 15, with a deadline for entries of Sept. 16, 1991.

The entry categories are action/sports, animals, landscape/scenic/environment, Maryland tourism attractions, Maryland's people, Marylanders at work, urban architecture and vacation humor.


Contestants must be currently employed by the state and may submit one photo per category taken on 35mm or larger format film in 8 by 10 prints.

Winners will join the governor in a ceremony and reception in Annapolis this fall, where the "Best of Contest" winner will receive an evening dinner cruise for 15 aboard the state yacht and a $500 cash prize. The first-place winner in each category will be awarded $100, second-place winners will get $75, and third-place winners will get $25, courtesy of Ritz Camera Centers Inc. All participants will receive a Governor's Certificate of Recognition and coupons for two complimentary photo enlargements at Ritz Camera stores.

Send all entries to the Maryland Department of Transportation Public Affairs Division, P.O. Box 8755, BWI Airport, Md. 21240, by Sept. 16, 1991.


A new slate of Ballet Theatre of Annapolis officers and trustees for the 1991-1992 season was elected at a recent board meeting.

BettzeLibson was voted BTA president for a second one-year term; John Menocal was elected vice president for technical support; Mimi Calver, vice president for administration; Bruce Abernathy, treasurer; and Susan Stroud-Davies, secretary.

Trustees serving for another year include John B. Bowers Jr., Barbara Engle, Sarah Jane Rose, Janet Rutherford, Thomas Saquella, Beth Slikker, Cynthia Stiverson, Wallace Treiber, and Barbie Willis.

New members are Leslie Faust, William J. Green, Jan Hardesty, Stoddard Knowles, Jane Lambert, Linda Lamone, FrankRauch, and Jane Stuchell.


The BTA, which is in its 11th season, is the only professional dance company in Anne Arundel County.


County Executive Robert R. Neall is asking for nominations for the county's "Most Beautiful People" -- extraordinary people who volunteer their time and talents for others.

The contest is an opportunity to thank a volunteer who goes beyond the call of duty,demonstrating unselfish dedication, compassion and virtues.

Nominees should be unsung heroes whose acts of good will go unnoticed and who serve their communities as volunteers, not as part of their jobs.

The program is sponsored in conjunction with Gov. William D. Schaefer's "Maryland You Are Beautiful" campaign. All nominees will be honored at a reception sponsored by the county executive, and the winner will be honored by Schaefer at a ceremony in October.


Deadline for nominations is Sept. 11.

For a nomination form, write to Community Services, "Anne Arundel County's Most Beautiful People," Arundel Center Suite 230, P.O. Box 2700, Annapolis, Md. 21404.


Anne Arundel Medical Center Foundation recently appointed three area residents to its board of directors: M. Lee Marston, Michael McCrudden and Robert Reeves.

Marston, president of J.J. Haines andCo. Inc., is active in community affairs and has been treasurer and trustee of the Chesapeake Bay Foundation.

He also serves as trustee of Western Maryland College and has served with the Independent College Fund of Maryland and the Young Presidents Organization.


McCrudden, who recently returned to the Annapolis area after living in Colorado for 17 years, serves on the board of directors for the Summit School in Annapolis.

Reeves, senior vice president and board memberfor Ferris, Baker, Watts Inc., is a past commodore of the Severn Sailing Association and active in its junior sailing program, including serving as regional training instructor.

He is past president of the Chesapeake Bay Yacht Racing Association.

Anne Arundel Medical Center Foundation's Board of Directors oversees the solicitation, investment and distribution of funds to benefit Anne Arundel Medical Center and its non-profit subsidiaries.


Nancy McNew recently was named Anne Arundel Medical Center's TWIN honoree for 1991. The award was presented at the YWCA of Annapolis and Anne Arundel County's Sixth Annual Tribute to Women And Industry Dinner.


McNew is responsible for the Medical Center's infection control program and works with the medical and hospital staffs, providing leadership in themanagement of infectious diseases.

Due to her interpersonal skills and expertise, the Medical Center has a very low infection rate, which contributes to the safety of patients and staff and extends to the community at large.

McNew also is a member of the Association for Practitioners in Infection Control and the AIDS Coalition of Anne Arundel County and played a major role in the center's response to AIDS, including the adoption of a corporate HIV policy.

The TWIN Award is sponsored by YWCAs across the country and honors women who have made significant contributions to industry in management or executivepositions.

The award also recognizes corporations whose policies and practices encourage and enable high achievement by women.