On the boardHoward County Chamber of Commerce...


On the board

Howard County Chamber of Commerce elected the following to the board of directors: Donna Ange, president and co-owner of InterPay Automatic Payroll Service in Columbia; Victor A. Broccolino, president and chief executive officer of Howard County General Hospital Inc.; Sidney Louis Cousin, associate superintendent of finance and operations, Howard County Public Schools; Padraic M. Kennedy, president of the Columbia Association; Duke S. Kassolis, vice president and director of commercial and retail properties at the Rouse Co.; Gordon M. Mumpower Jr., a business insurance broker of property and casualty/group life and health products and services. Robert W. Locke 3rd, of Columbia Bank, and William H. Munn, of Maryland Environmental Systems Inc., were re-elected to second terms.

Towson State University appointed the following to its alumni board of directors: Andrew V. Tignanelli, chief executive officer, and Christopher J. O'Shea, chief operating officer, both of Coordinated Assets in Columbia.

Market Center Association elected the following to the board of directors: Milt Rosenbaum, owner of Hosiery World, president; Charlotta Stephens, manager of the McDonald's at Howard and Fayette streets, vice president; Mike Shaivitz of Lee Furniture, treasurer; and Alvin Levi, owner of Howard Street Jewlers, secretary.

Michael D. Dingman Center for Entrepreneurship at the University of Maryland appointed the following to the board of advisers: E. Rogers Novak Jr., managing director of Rockland Capital Group Inc.; James E. Tebay, president of the Foundation of Manufacturing Excellence; and Robert B. Barnhill Jr., president and CEO of Tessco Inc. Rudolph P. Lamone, dean of the University of Maryland's College of Business and Management, was elected chairman.

The Ann Arundel Trade Council re-elected Kathryn J. Dahl, resident partner, Linowes & Blocher, president; and Bertrand A. Mason, president of Alliance Property Corp., vice president. The council elected Andrew R. Lombardo, managing partner of C. W. Amos & Co., secretary; and Joel Mostrom, president of Russett Center Ltd, treasurer. Elected to a three-year term were Mick Blackistone, Dallas R. Evans, Scarlett Breeding, William J. Greene and Kames J. Kappel.

Washington Area Council of Engineering Laboratories Inc. named Kenneth T. Hall, P.E., president of the board of directors. Mr. Hall is vice president of engineering and senior geotechnical engineer for CTI Consultants Inc. Serving on the 1991-1992 WACEL board of directors are: President-elect Dough Gardner (law engineering), Secretary Dave Allison (Bengtson, DeBell, Elkin & Titus, P.C.), and treasurer Carroll Brown (Patton, Harris, Rust & Associates).

Maryland Trial Lawyers Association elected Martin H. Freeman -- a partner in the Bethesda-based law firm of Freeman, Richardson and Jenner -- president; A. Harold DuBois, president-elect; Augustus Brown, vice president; Daniel M. Clements, secretary; Gary I. Strausberg, treasurer; and William Finch Jr., parliamentarian. New members are: Andrew

Bederman, John Low and Mark Snyder.


Eric Ludwig, an apprentice with M. S. Willet Inc. of Cockeysville, won the grand prize, an electrical discharge machine valued at up to $100,000, for his firm at the 1991 National Tooling and Machine Asscociations' Annual Apprentice Contest held in Houston.

Ted Smith, president, chief executive officer and co-founder of FileNet Corp., was awarded the 1991 Distinguishing Alumnus Award from the University of Maryland's College of Engineering.

James S. Bugg, president and owner of Decorating Den Systems Inc., received the Entrepreneur of the Year award in the retail/wholesale category.

Paul A. Pumpian, consumer affairs officer, was named the 1991 Honored Alumnus by the Alumni Association of the University of Maryland School of Pharmacy.

P. Wesley Foster Jr., president of Long & Foster Real Estate Inc., was named the Greater Washington, D.C.-area Entrepreneur of the Year for real estate.

Terry Acra of American properties was honored for outstanding sales achievement in 1990.

The Columbia Bank and Jerry Brock, vice president and senior development director at the Rouse Co., are winners of the 1991 Business and Business Person of the Year awards given by the Howard County Chamber of Commerce.

Crosby Communications Inc., an Annapolis-based marketing and communications firm, received the 1991 Venture Award from the Greater Baltimore Committee and the Anne Arundel County Office of Economic Development.

The Development Training Institute of Baltimore received the highest annual award for multicultural training from the American Society for Training and Development.

Gompf Construction Co. Inc. was recognized by Butler Manufacturing Co. for excellence in construction on a horse barn.

Globe ScreenPrint of Baltimore received top honors in the 1991 Calendar Award Contest sponsored by the Calendar Marketing


Trade organizations

Katz, Abosch, Windesheim, Gershman & Freedman, P.A., appointed Linda Brooks to the MACPA Estate, gift and state planning committee.

New accounts

Adams Sandlers Inc., a marketing communications firm, has been selected to handle advertising for HealthPlus and Goucher College.

The Bomstein Agency, a full service advertising agency, has been retained by Hotel Physician Inc. and Griffin Development.

Sarah Pick Associates, a Columbia-based public relations and marketing firm, has been retained by Savader & Associates and POR-15, a manufacturer of car-care products.

The Robert W. Wood Co., a Columbia-based facilities planning and management firm, has been retained by Comp-U-Staff.

J. Murphy & Associates, P.A., a Columbia-based accounting and management consulting firm, has been retained by the Small Business Administration.

Oldham & Seltz, an architectural and interior design firm, has been selected to provide services for the relocation of O'Connell & Associates.

Earle Palmer Brown, a marketing and communications agency, has been selected to handle advertising for ChemLawn Services Corp.

Noble Steed Associates Inc. has been chosen by the Prudential Health Care Plan Inc. to develop and produce its advertising campaigns and related marketing materials.

Copyright © 2020, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad