Mosner chosen as chairman of Md. Racing Commission


John H. Mosner Jr., a member of the Maryland Racing Commission since 1987, has been named commission chairman, was announced Friday.

Mosner, chosen by Gov. William Donald Schaefer, was appointed to a one-year term. He replaces Ernest Colvin, who will remain on the board.

Mosner, 65, retired as president of Mercantile Bankshares Corp. in March.

Others apparently in the running for the chairman's post were Allan Levey, Carol McGowan and Peter Bozick.

The commission has eight members, one under its allotment, because the position vacated earlier this year by Margaret McManus has not been filled.

Copyright © 2020, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad