The Carroll County Sun has won five awards in the 1990-1991 MarylandExcellence in Journalism Awards contest, run by the Society of Professional Journalists, Maryland Professional Chapter.

Competing in the Weeklies over 10,000 Circulation Division, the five winning entries are:

* First place, Investigative reporting: reporters JoAnna Daemmrich, John Morris, Adam Sachs, Steve Groft and Jackie Powder, along withEditor Edward H. Shur and columnist Susan White-Bowden, for our special "The American Dream" issue on the crisis in affordable housing inCarroll County. The project, which evolved over six months, was the first-ever detailed look at housing in Carroll, a subject now before a county-appointed committee, as well as the Housing Coalition. This special issue has won several prior awards in other journalism contests.

* First place, Editorials: Shur, for a "Shurshots" column about the shortage of affordable housing in Carroll County with a number of suggested solutions.

* First place, Graphic design: Shur, for designs of two special issues: "The American Dream" and "A Look Back at 1990" (the year in review).

* Second place, Business reporting: reporter Kerry O'Rourke, for her four-story package on Finksburg contractor Mark A. Knight, who was improperly installing water-treatment equipment with neither a state license nor a county permit. He left in his trail thousands of dollars of debts and unpaid taxes, along with pending court cases and many unhappy customers. After all the problems were uncovered, he was denied a state license when he reapplied.

* Second place, Spot news: Sachs, Darren Allen, O'Rourke and Greg Tasker, for an on-deadline, five-story package, "Changing of the Guard," about the election of new County Commissioners and Board of Education. The pieces dealt with conflicting personalities of the new commissioners, the efficiency of part-time government, movement toward charter government, issues facing the new commissioners and school board, and citizen involvement in examining county issues.

The five awards will be presented at a dinner banquet July 27 at the Mariott's Hunt Valley Inn in Baltimore County.

Copyright © 2020, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad