Don’t miss Trey Mancini and Joey Rickard guest bartend at the first Brews & O’s event June 10th. Get your tickets today!

Mount Wash., Perry Hall build on traditions CLUB LACROSSE


One club added to its already rich tradition, while another i trying to start one.

Both Mount Washington and Perry Hall lacrosse clubs won their respective league championships last weekend, as Mount Washington defeated New York Athletic Club, 6-3, to win the United States Club Lacrosse Association title, and Perry Hall beat New York Athletic Club's second team, 12-9, to win the Central Atlantic League title.

For Mount Washington, it was a second consecutive championship for a team that dominated club lacrosse in the early 1960s and mid-1970s. The championship was a first for Perry Hall, which became a club team only six years ago.

"This is great, absolutely great," said Mike Tochterman, PerrHall's general manager, who organized the team along with Norm Schmidtt and Pat King. "During the first year or two, we were winning just two games a season. It's been a long six years."

Mount Washington coach Skip Lichtfuss said: "In the past, there was a trend for the champion to win three, four, five, and sometimes six titles in a row until a new batch of players came along for someone else. We feel we have a good nucleus here. I'm not the type of person who throws around a lot of superlatives, but we're a confident group and I think we're going to be tough to beat. We hope this is the beginning of a string."

Mount Washington finished the season 15-2, but opened it with quite a few holes, particularly on offense. A year ago, Mount Washington's attack centered on Mac Ford, who retired at the end of last season. Also, 13 out of 32 Mount Washington players missed early-season practices because they played indoor lacrosse.

But Lichtfuss got balanced scoring from attackmen Mike Morrill (34 goals), Lou Delligatti (22), Matt Mundorf and midfielders Todd Curry, Butch Marino (20) and Brian Nikula (26).

The strength of this team, though, was in a defense led by Dave Pietramala, Ron Klausner, Ed Stephenson and goalies Quint Kessenich, Kevin Bilger and David Linthicum. Defensively, Mount Washington scored 15 goals this season.

"The strength of our offense was our defense. They got the ball up to our offense very quickly," said Lichtfuss. "We have the best defense in lacrosse and the best player in Dave Pietramala.

"We also had a good blend of veteran and young players," said Lichtfuss.

Perry Hall played with one of Mount Washington's key veterans from a year ago in midfielder John Tucker, who graduated from Johns Hopkins in 1984. Tochterman considers Tucker the primary reason Perry Hall went from 13-5 in 1990 to 16-0 this season.

"He was the missing ingredient," said Tochterman. "John was like having another coach on the field. He set up plays and became one of our top scorers."

Perry Hall also added several other new players, including Steve Klein and Kevin Doyle from Washington College. "They put us over the top," said Tochterman.

Doyle teamed with Terry Reynolds and Bryan Warga to anchor Perry Hall's defense and give goaltender Ross Miller (233 saves) a solid wall up front. Klein became a part of two midfield units, joining Mike Greig, Eric Volk and Tucker on one group. The other consisted of Chris Mulligan (23 goals, 10 assists), Scott Evander and Paul Juarascio.

Perry Hall used a strong transition game throughout the season paced by attackmen Joe Furnari (31, 9), Frank Windsor (19, 8) and Bill Hallett (41, 31).

"I thought we would lose maybe two or three games throughout the year," said Tochterman. "I never expected us to be undefeated."

USCLA champions

)1981 Long Island Athletic Club

1982 Maryland Lacrosse Club

1983 Maryland Lacrosse Club

1984 Maryland Lacrosse Club

1985 Long Island/Hofstra L.C.

1986 Long Island/Hofstra L.C.

1987 Long Island/Hofstra L.C.

1988 Maryland Lacrosse Club

1989 Long Island/Hofstra L.C.

1990 Mount Washington Lacrosse Club

1991 Mount Washington Lacrosse Club

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad