5 Md. students named Presidential Scholars


Five Maryland high school seniors are among 141 students nationwide to be named 1991 Presidential Scholars by President Bush and Secretary of Education Lamar Alexander.

Three of the Maryland winners are from Towson High in Baltimore County: Wesley S. Chan, Kyle L. Kinsella and Jeanne K. Wilmot. Keyontia R. Hawkins of the Baltimore School for the Arts and Kathryn M Benedict from Linganore High School in Frederick County also were cited.

Each of the students will receive a Presidential Scholar medallion and $1,000 to pursue an "excellence dream."

Only California, eight, and New York, seven, had more students on the prestigious list, while Texas matched Maryland's total.

Copyright © 2020, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad