THB, Banditos, Wayward and more confirmed for Cosmic Cocktail!

Pusin, Lins win Metropolitan matches


Sharon Pusin won the last hole to edge Young Ja Kim, 1-up, and Joan Lins won the last two holes to eliminate Connie Pifer, 2-up, to highlight the first round of the women's Metropolitan golf championship at Hillendale Country Club yesterday.

Lins was 1-down at the turn, but won three of the next four holes to take command of her match.

Leigh Farrell, a first-round loser a year ago, lost the first two holes to Tinker Eck, a former champion, but bounced back to get even by the turn. From there, she won four times in a five-hole span, closing out a 4-and-3 triumph with a birdie at No. 15.

Among others advancing to this morning's quarterfinals at Hobbit's Glen GC were Cindy Peterka, chasing a third straight title, and Andrea Kraus, another past champion, who won the medal Monday.


Cindy Peterka def. Linda Hickman, 6 and 4; Sally Casey def. Judy Hoff, 4 and 3; Leigh Farrell def. Tinker Eck, 4 and 3; Kanya Chintrisna def. Kathy Altemus, 4 and 3; Andrea Kraus def. Jean Mulcahey, 7 and 6; Cheri Cooper def. Eleanor Appling, 5 and 4; Joan Lins def. Connie Pifer, 2-up; Sharon Pusin def. Young Ja Kim, 1-up.

Second flight

Dorothea Greene def. Stephanie Kell, 1-up; Judy Mehrling def. Glena Wirtanen, 3 and 1; Linda Schneidereith def. Joan Marconi, 4 and 3; Barbara McLaughlin def. Bobby Farr, 6 and 5.

Third flight

Connie Henderson def. Grace Harvey, 2 and 1; Mary Myers def. Susan Roche, 19 holes; Pat Hagan def. Hortie Amernick, 3 and 2; Liz Ireton def. Kathy Blandford, 1-up.

Fourth flight

Rita Gillham won from Tery Abrams by default; Marie Driessen def. Joanne Salerno, 4 and 3; Arlene Birnbaum def. Marie Hess, 1-up; Mary Harper def. Susan Tucker, 5 and 4.

Fifth flight

Jean Minnis def. Clem Aquella, 7 and 5; Ann Gillespie def. Ginny Grem, 6 and 5; Erica Overholser def. Leah Burch 7 and 6; Midge Thursby def. Catherine Kipp, 3 and 2.

Sixth flight

Karen Mortimer def. Jean Buchsbaum, 6 and 5; Audrey Hopkins-Brown def. Lil Phillip, 1-up; Gail Mosher def. Cookie Rosenthal, 6 and 5; Pat Jackson won from Nancy Chance by forfeit.

Seventh flight

Doris Bright def. Evelyn Richardson, 4 and 3; Renee Bisciotti def. Marge Shinnick, 3 and 2; Marge Myers def. Anne Perentesis, 3 and 2; Fopeanna Johnson def. Ann Costantini, 4 and 2.

Eighth flight

Jeanne Guidera, bye; Mary Lou Watson def. Charlotte Parker, 3 and 1; Lori Karvellas, bye; Dottie Wood, bye.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad