Villa Julie College gave Walter Sondheim Jr....


Villa Julie College gave Walter Sondheim Jr. and George V. McGowan honorary doctor of humane letters degrees at the college's commencement exercises recently. Mr. Sondheim is senior adviser to the Greater Baltimore Committee and Mr. McGowan is chairman of the board and chief executive officer of the Baltimore Gas and Electric Co.

University of Maryland at Baltimore is presenting an honorary doctor of science degree to Joseph D. Williams, chief executive officer of the Warner-Lambert Co., at the commencement ceremony Friday.


Loyola College in Baltimore was named a John Templeton Foundation

Honor Roll institution.

Ronald E. Alper, attorney for the Maryland Public Service Commission, was named a delegate to the Forum for U.S.-Soviet Dialogue to be held in the Soviet Union in July. The forum is a non-profit organization that works to introduce young professionals from the United States and Soviet Union to promote better relations.

Vikram Vakharia and Siba K. Samal, both assistant professors of veterinary medicine at the University of Maryland at College Park, won the university's 1990 Invention of the Year Award.

Janet Baugher Covington received the 1991 Distinguished Woman Award from the Girl Scouts of Central Maryland. Ms. Covington is director of public affairs for WMAR-TV in Baltimore.

Nationwide Advertising Service Inc. received an award of appreciation from the Maryland Army National Guard.

Richard E. Hug was named outstanding volunteer fund-raiser by the National Society of Fund Raising Executives.

Maryland Magazine won awards for best overall design and the best photo essay award from the Regional Publishers Association. Maryland Magazine is published quarterly by the Department of Economic and Employment Development.

Loyola College's Center for Professional Development won an award from the National University Continuing Education Association for publicizing the Money Management Camp for Young People, a workshop for students in grades seven to 10.

Elizabeth Levy Malis won awards from the National Multiple Sclerosis Society and the Maryland-Delaware-D.C. Press Association for an article about the Multiple Sclerosis Swim and Social Program at the Catonsville YMCA. Ms. Malis is senior writer for PWA Group, a Baltimore-based public relations agency.

Silver & Co. Inc., a Bethesda-based marketing company, won an award from the Direct Marketing Association of Washington for a direct-mail campaign produced for Perpetual Savings Bank.

Patrick J. Horan was ranked the top financial planner in a nationwide competition sponsored by IDS Financial Services. Mr. Horan is a financialPlanner in the Glen Arm office of IDS.

PolySource Mid-Atlantic Inc., a plastics recycling company in Baltimore, received an award from the 1991 Chesapeake Earthday Campaign.

L. Gordon Packaging of Baltimore won six awards from the National Paperboard and Packaging Association.

John W. Neumann was named volunteer of the year by the Montgomery County High Technology Council. Mr. Neumann is of counsel to the law firm Frank, Bernstein, Conaway & Goldman.

College of Notre Dame students Karen Holsey, Renee Lavalle, Kim Myers and Judy Wunder won first place as a team in the College Case Study Competition sponsored by the Baltimore Chapter of the American Marketing Association and First National Bank of Maryland.

Montgomery County High Technology Council presented the following awards: Genetic Therapy Inc., high-technology firm of the year; Hughes Network Systems' Personal Earth Station 6000, high-technology product of the year; Joseph Sciulli,president and CEO of Telecommunications Techniques Corp., high-technology entrepreneur of the year; John Savage and John Neumann, council volunteers of the year; and Harvey D. Kushner, special distinguished service award.

John W. Felton was named public relations professional of the year by the industry trade magazine PR News. Mr. Felton is vice president of corporate communications for McCormick & Co.

Trade organizations

Financial Executives Institute, Baltimore chapter, elected John A. Kravitz president. Mr. Kravitz is vice president and chief financial officer of Kirschner Medical Corp.

Maryland Medical Record Association elected the following officers: Ann Fagan, president; Pamela Appelgate, president-elect; Laura Green, secretary; and Ellen Blake, treasurer.

Maryland Hotel & Motel Association named Peg Bednarsky of Historic Inns of Annapolis its representative on the board of directors of the American Hotel & Motel Association.

Association of Government Accountants named Thomas L. "Lee"Woods executive director.

National Law Firm Marketing Association formed a mid-Atlantic chapter and elected the following to the board of directors: Jean L. Zettler, president; Tyanna L. Ertter, vice president/treasurer; Norm Rubenstein, secretary; Joanne Faber, Donna Greenfield and Wendy Weisbrod, board members at large.

Public service

Gov. William Donald Schaefer's Volunteer Council appointed the following new members: Dea Anderson Kline, director of community affairs for The Johns Hopkins University; Margot "Peggy" Milch, president of the board of the Baltimore Museum of Art; Rosemarie T. Nassif, executive vice president of the College of Notre Dame of Maryland; Jan Rivitz, executive director of the Aaron Straus and Lillie Straus Foundation; Mary Prangley, president of the Hyattsville City Council; Barry F. Scher, vice president of Giant Food Inc.; and Norman Owen Taylor, chief professional officer of the United Way of Central Maryland.

Signet Bank gave $3,000 to the Baltimore Educational Scholarship Trust.

Copyright © 2020, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad