The Town Council met yesterday to review a list of candidates to fill the two remaining years of Councilman Perry L. Jones' term.

In last week's town election, Jones won the job of mayor, beating out fellow Councilman Scott W. Davis by 11 votes.

His election leaves the council with one empty seat.

Nearly 57percent, or 266, of the town's registered voters turned out May 14 to elect a new mayor and two councilmen.

Incumbent councilmen Bret D. Grossnickle and Jeffery M. Six were also election winners. Each will serve another four-year term.

When the newly elected Jones, 39,moves to the head of the council table, he will vacate the chair he has occupied during his 10 years of service on the council, the last four as its president.

"The new member will be determined by a favorable vote of the majority of remaining members," said Town AttorneyJohn T. Maguire II.

Three candidates submitted their names for consideration: Selby M. Black, Antonia H. Eder and Edgar C. Wentz.

Black, 57, a former councilman who resigned in 1989 after 11 years, said he has remained active in the community and can help the council deal with its two most pressing issues: growth and the expansion of Lehigh Portland Cement Co.

Eder, 32, said she cares about the town and its welfare. She served as town secretary for six months and workson the Heritage and Recycling committees.

"I decided to apply forthe vacancy instead of running for office, because I have been very satisfied with the job you all are doing," she said.

Edgar C. Wentz, 47, who with 98 votes ran a distant third to Six's 216 and Grossnickle's 190, assured the council he would always keep the town's interests foremost in mind.

Six was unable to attend the session. The remaining three members were reluctant to vote in his absence.

Bonnie M. Hyde, Scott W. Davis, along with Grossnickle and Six, will submit their choice in writing to Town Clerk Kathleen Kreimer by May 27. She will enter their decision into the minutes of yesterday's meetingand make the selection public on May 28.

That date will mark the beginning of Jones' term and the end of a 35-year-era here, as EdwardL. Williar, the longest-serving mayor in Carroll County, retires.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad