Maryland, only holdover, faces New Hampshire in semifinals


The University of Maryland will be the lone Division I holdover from a year ago when the National Collegiate Athletic Association holds its women's lacrosse championships at Trenton State College this weekend.

hTC Maryland, a losing finalist a year ago, will face New Hampshire, which eliminated defending champion Harvard, and Virginia will meet Penn State, the only team to beat the Cavaliers this season.

Virginia and Maryland, the seeded teams, have not played in more than two weeks. New Hampshire and Penn State scored quarterfinal victories last week.

In Division III, where four first-round winners advanced, defending champion Ursinus will play top-seeded Franklin and Marshall, and Trenton State will oppose William Smith.

Maryland and New Hampshire are veteran teams, but where the Terrapins have been to the NCAAs seven times, New Hampshire has not been to the tournament since 1987. Maryland holds a 3-1 record in the series, the only loss coming in the championship game of 1985.

Senior tri-captains Leann Shuck (Broadneck), Michele Ulhfelder (Pikesville) and Jennifer Ulehla (Maryvale) are the Maryland leaders, with Shuck and Ulhfelder 1-2 in scoring with 60 and 58 points, respectively, while Ulehla is rated one of the top Division I defenders.

Penn State, out of the Final Four last year after winning the 1989 title, included one-goal wins over Maryland and Virginia this spring. Five goal-scorers have at least 20 apiece, including junior Deana Blood (Dulaney), 21 goals and nine assists. Megan Smith, 26 goals, 27 assists, and Mary Ann Foley, 24 goals, 16 assists are the only ones ahead of Blood.

At Virginia, junior Jenny Slingluff (Roland Park) is second to Cynthia Mathes in goals, 33 to 31, but leads in assists, 15, and points, 46. Elaine Jones (Friends), Erin Stewart (Maryvale), Kim O'Keefe (Overlea), and Kelly Cowan (St. Paul's) are other regulars in the lineup. Natalie Santos (Friends) saw reserve duty.

In Division III, Ursinus and Trenton State have split the six national titles and combined for four runner-up finishes. Against Franklin and Marshall, Ursinus, led by senior Amy Ward (St. Paul's), will be seeking a third successive title.

Franklin and Marshall, the only unbeaten left in either draw, defeated Ursinus twice during the season, 7-5, and 11-8.

NCAA women's lacrosse tournament

What: Division I and Division III championships

Where: Trenton State College, Ewing, N.J.

When: Semifinals today, championships tomorrow

Pairings: Division III: Franklin & Marshall (15-0) vs. Ursinus (11-8), 10 a.m.; William Smith (15-1) vs. Trenton State (14-1), noon. Division I: Virginia (15-1) vs. Penn State (14-3), 2 p.m.; Maryland (13-2) vs. New Hampshire (11-1), 4 p.m. Sunday's games will be at 12:30 p.m. (III) and 3 p.m. (I).

Tickets: Available at the gate.

Directions: Take Interstate 95 (Kennedy Highway) north through Wilmington, Del., and Philadelphia and across the Delaware River. In New Jersey, get off at Ewing exit (Route 31), which is about 1 mile from the Trenton State campus.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad