Washington's Arena Stage dominates Helen Hayes Awards


The first lady of the American theater, Helen Hayes, at age 90 was resplendent in a blue sequined gown as she presided over the glittering 1991 Helen Hayes Awards at the National Theatre in Washington.

The 19 awards were given out by a roster of special guests, including Charles Dutton, Stacy Keach, David Garrison and Kelly McGillis.

Washington's Arena Stage won nine categories including Outstanding Resident Production for "Stand-Up Tragedy" by Bill Cain.

The awards ceremony is presented by the Washington Theatre Awards Society.

Stage and television actress Pat Carroll returned for her fourth season as mistress of ceremonies. A former Helen Hayes Awards recipient, Carroll won this year in Outstanding Lead Actress in a Resident Production for her portrayal of Falstaff in Washington's Shakespeare Theatre at the Folger's "The Merry Wives of Windsor."

The award for Outstanding Resident Musical went to the Woolly Mammoth Theatre Company's production of "The Rocky Horror Show."

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Resident Production went to Luis Ramos, for his role in "Stand-Up Tragedy" at Arena Stage.

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Resident Musical went to Nanna Ingvarsson for "The Rocky Horror Show." David Garrison of Arena's "Merrily We Roll Along" and Scott Morgan of Washington-based Source Theatre Company's "Children With Stones" shared Outstanding Lead Actor in a Resident Musical honors.

The award for Outstanding Lead Actress in a Non-Resident Production was given to Cheryl Lynn Bruce for "From the Mississippi Delta" at Arena Stage.

J. Mark McVey won Outstanding Lead Actor in a Non-Resident Production for "Les Miserables" at the National.

In the Director's category Max Mayer won for Arena's "Stand-Up Tragedy" (Resident Production), and Bill Rauch won for Cornerstone Theater Company's production of "The Video Store Owner's Significant Other" (Non-Resident).

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad