Thunder's Stewart will coach all-stars


Thunder coach John Stewart will direct the American Division team in the Major Indoor Lacrosse League All-Star Game April 20 (8 p.m.) at the Spectrum in Philadelphia.

The league named Stewart to the position after he coached the Thunder to the division title. Medo Martinello of the Detroit Turbos will coach the National Division all-stars. The Turbos will meet the Thunder for the MILL championship April 6 at the Baltimore Arena.

Stewart and Baltimore general manager Darrell Russell named Thunder goalie Jeff Gombar and forwards Tim and Pat Welsh, Jeff Jackson, Rick Sowell, Dan Britton and John Nostrant to the all-star squad.

Martinello and Detroit GM Tom Wright selected Gary and Paul Gait, Pat Lea, Peter Parke, Adam Mueller, Armando Rodrigues and Ted Sawicki as the nucleus of the National roster.

The other all-star selections: Philadelphia -- Dallas Eliuk, John Tucker, Tony Resch, Gary Martin, John Conley and Scott Gabrielsen; New York -- Sal Locascio, Don Borges, Jeff Nicklas, Gordon Purdie, Tim McIntee and Mike Cummings; New England -- Dan O'Neil, Walt Cataldo, Tom Carmean, Toby Boucher, Kevin Finneran and Charlie Blanchard; Pittsburgh -- Kevin Bilger, John Wilson, Butch Marino, Brian Nikula, Brian Keith and Ed Stephenson.

The all-stars are also the nominees for the MILL all-pro team, which will be determined by vote of the players of all six teams and announced at the all-star game. First-team all-pro players from last year who were named current all-stars include Tucker, Sowell, Nikula and Sawicki.

Baltimore earned the right to stage the MILL championship game April 6 by outdrawing Detroit during the regular season. The Thunder attracted 44,678 for five home games, including a team season-high 10,265 Saturday. The Turbos finished with 39,269, including 8,269 Saturday.

Copyright © 2021, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad