Robert R. Gavlinski and Diane E. Herron received the Commander's Award for Civilian Service at the U.S. Army Chemical Research, Development and Engineering Center's Physical Protection Directorate, AberdeenProving Ground.

Gavlinski, a supervisory chemical engineer in theProductibility Engineering Division was recognized for his outstanding participation in the planning, building, and occupying of the Berger Laboratory Complex, a new laboratory facility at the center.


He also was cited for his coordination of the center's Departmentof Defense Science and Engineering Apprenticeship program from 1983 to 1990.

Gavlinski resides in Bel Air with his wife Judi and theirthree children.


Herron, a support services supervisor and chief of the administrative office of PPD, was recognized for her execution of all administrative support manners pertinent to the organization.

She has 15 years of government service.

Herron resides in Edgewood with her husband Gordon, a program analyst in PPD, and their three children.


Dr. Diane Krueger Troyer has been named Harford Community College's vice president of Academic Affairs and Student Services. The appointment was made by the college's board of trustees at their February meeting.

Dr. Troyer's resume reflects extensive experience in community college administration. Shecomes to HCC from El Paso Community College, where she was dean of business and technology.

Prior to her years at El Paso, Dr. Troyer was community development specialist and consultant for Indian HealthService in Albuquerque, N.M.

As vice president of Academic Affairs and Student Services, Troyer will be the chief academic officer of the college and in the absence of the president will be the chief executive officer. She will provide the academic and administrative leadership required to achieve the highest standards of excellence in instruction, academic programs and services for students. The vice president has direct responsibility for curriculum, instruction and student services.



Tau Chapter of Delta Kappa Gamma Society International, an honor society for women educators, recently recognized its charter members -- Marie Amos, Mabel Andrews, Mary Wright Barnes, Dorothy Ford, Jane Gent, Kay Maisenhalder, Violet Merryman, Evelyn Walker, Dorothy Ward and Flora Wiley.

Tau Chapter, founded Jan. 8, 1968, in the county, plans to expand by sponsoring another chapter in the county in April.

Barbara Eitemiller is chapter president.


Charles D. Solloway Jr. of Edgewood has been voted to the class of Fellow by the National Board of Directors of the National Contract Management Association for significant contributions in the field of contract management.


Solloway, director of procurement for the U.S. Army Test and

Evaluation Command at Aberdeen Proving Ground, provides guidance and assistance to command directors of contracting and issues command policies and procedures relating to contracting.

He also is the primary command representative to higher headquarters, other government agencies, academia, industry and foreign governments in matters relating to procurement and contracting.

Solloway has been a member of the association for about 10 years.


Michael Watts, president of Bel Air Construction Inc. in Jarrettsville was honored in Atlanta by the National Association of Home Builders Remodelors council for winning the Certified Graduate Remodelor designation.


Watts is one of only 214 remodelers in the country with the designation.