Block dinner set March 12


Dan Rooney, president of the Pittsburgh Steelers, and Frank Deford, editor-in-chief of The National sports daily, are among the guests of honor at the 13th annual Ed Block Courage Awards a week from tonight at Martin's West.

The affair annually honors recipients from all 28 NFL teams who have best exemplified the traits of courage as shown by Block, now deceased, who was a beloved trainer for the Baltimore Colts for many years.

Since the inception of the banquet, the Ed Block Courage Foundation has raised nearly $1.5 million in support of abused children. For ticket information, call 661-3222.

This year's recipients:

AMERICAN CONFERENCE * Buffalo: Darryl Talley, LB; Cincinnati: Joe Walter, OT; Cleveland: Kevin Mack, RB; Denver: Keith Kartz, OL; Houston: Mike Munchak, OL; Indianapolis: Harvey Lee Armstrong, DT; Kansas City: Deron Cherry, DB; Los Angeles Raiders: Tim Brown, WR; Miami: Liffort Hobley, DB; New England: Ronnie Lippert, DB; New York Jets: Freeman McNeil, RB; Pittsburgh: John Rienstra, OL; San Diego: Leo Goras, OL; Seattle: Tommy Kane, WR.

NATIONAL CONFERENCE * Atlanta: Mike Kenn, OT; Chicago: Lem Stinson, DB; Dallas: Kelvin Martin, WR; Detroit: Bruce McNorton, DB; Green Bay: Perry Kemp, WR; Los Angeles Rams: Jerry Gray, DB; Minnesota: Gary Zimmerman, OT; New Orleans: Richie Jackson, LB; New York Giants: Mark Bavaro, TE; Philadelphia: Ron Solt, OL; Phoenix: Ken Harvey, LB; San Francisco: Mike Sherrard, WR; Tampa Bay: Ron Hall, TE; Washington: Joe Jacoby, OL.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad