Towson State University's Office of Minority Affairs...


Towson State University's Office of Minority Affairs honore 11 men and women with Distinguished Black Marylanders Awards. They are: Mayor Kurt L. Schmoke, Nancy Bennett, William C. Calhoun, Eugene D. Byrd, Marcellus W. Alexander Jr., Jean Tucker Mann, Evelyn Pasteur Valentine, Freeman A. Hrabowski III; Joseph Haskins Jr., Evelyn Patterson Burrell and Elrod Hendricks.

Ann Dake, an early childhood teacher at Bryn Mawr School, was the 1991 recipient of the Mrs. Lucy Eastwood Broadus Memorial Award for travel or study abroad. Mrs. Dake will use the award's $6,000 stipend to travel to France this summer.

Judy Pittenger, a Roland Park Country School history teacher, is one of 49 educators selected nationally to pursue an independent study grant sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities. Each winning teacher is awarded $27,500 for the yearlong study.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad