75-80 and Mason-Dixon open '91 seasons today


Motor racing moves into high gear today at three area tracks 75-80 Dragway and Mason-Dixon Dragway open their 1991 seasons, and the Hagerstown Speedway has a full feature of oval dirt track racing.

75-80 begins its 31st year of NHRA drag racing today. This will be the first opportunity for mid-Atlantic drag racers to compete against each other and the clock. The track opens at 9:30 a.m., and eliminations begin at 1:30 p.m.

Next Sunday, points competition starts at 75-80. Points will be awarded every race weekend, leading to track championships and an invitation to be part of the 75-80 team in the North East District championships in September. 75-80's team has beaten 20 other tracks for the district title five times in the past 12 years.

Mason-Dixon Dragway opens its gates at 9 a.m. for its 30th season. Eliminations begin at 1:30 after earlier qualifying.

A four-panel, five-digit scoreboard has been connected to the track's computer scoring for accuracy in timekeeping and announcements to the crowd and competitors alike. New lights have also been added.

Point races begin next Sunday toward 1991 titles.

Late Models and Modifieds race at Hagerstown Speedway. Both classes will compete in a 35-lap feature. Top finisher in the Modified race qualifies for the October Syracuse Super Dirt championship against the best dirt racers in the eastern states.

Next Sunday is the fourth annual Winter Bash. Late Models and Modifieds compete in Twin 20-lap races for each class plus a combo race with the best from the four earlier races.

Gates open at 10 a.m., with practice beginning at 1 p.m. both weekends.

In the season opener at Hagerstown, Nathan Durboraw of Hagerstown set a 35-lap record in winning the opening Late Model race. Although he began seventh, Durboraw won the sixth lap and never was headed.

Steve Smith of New Oxford, Pa., won the opening Super Sprint.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad