Old Mill wins Region IV title for 7th time with 3 champions 3A-4A wrestling


Old Mill had three champions and five runners-up, as the two-time defending Class 3A-4A state champion Patriots captured their seventh Region IV title Saturday night at Meade High School.

"We had kids do some things today that were above and beyond what they've been told to do," said 16th-year Old Mill coach Mike Hampe.

The Patriots, ranked No. 3 by the Maryland State Wrestling Association, had 216.5 points, nine short of the meet scoring record (225.5) that they set last year. No. 5 Broadneck was second with 135 points followed by seventh-ranked Annapolis (123).

Old Mill was led by the top-ranked Layman brothers, senior Brent (135 pounds, 32-1 record) and junior Brian (160, 27-0). Each repeated as regional champion.

They repeated as county champs last weekend. Brent won a tough 12-6 decision over Oakland Mills' Brian Dunbar and Brian used nine takedowns en route to a 23-8 technical-fall victory over Meade's Pat Williams (23-7).

The Patriots' 171-pounder, Ernie Longazel (27-5), overcame a 3-1 deficit to edge Oakland Mills' Dustin Blackwell, 7-6. Blackwell dropped to 24-8-1.

The best match of the night featured Oakland Mills heavyweight Monte Spencer (32-1) and Old Mill's Don Marco (29-2). Spencer took a 6-3 decision. The two wrestlers came into the match tied as the state's second-ranked heavyweights, but Spencer had beaten Marco, 7-4, earlier in the season.

"He was working a lot more moves this time. Last time he didn't," said Spencer, who was top-ranked before losing to Arundel's Pat Beach. "When I lost that match, it just made me want this more."

Broadneck had two champions, as top-ranked 112-pounder Shawn Miller (31-0, 24 pins) won a 15-2 major decision and 103-pounder Charlie Bennett beat Old Mill's county champion Steve Lundstrom (27-4), 11-5. Lundstrom beat Bennett in the Anne Arundel County tournament finals last week.

Annapolis had a pair of champions, as top-ranked 145-pounder Pat Flynn (30-0) decisioned Meade's third-ranked Luther Scott (26-3), 6-1, and his sixth-ranked, 140-pound teammate Chip Cochran (30-1) edged Old Mill's John Bliss, 3-2.

Chesapeake's top-ranked Brian Eveleth (30-0) won his title by pinning all four of his opponents, three in the first period. South River's only champion was No. 2-ranked Brian Hunt (152, 28-1-1), a state runner-up last year.

Copyright © 2021, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad