Awards were presented recently to nine Baltimore...


Awards were presented recently to nine Baltimore City public school students who submitted winning essays to the Rev. Martin Luther King Jr. essay contest. They are: Josephine McKinley, Joseph Sembly, Jason Hardison, Kristi Ward, La Shandra Nash, Corinna Yost, Meghan Davis and Marie Solomon.


Robert F. Tardio and Sen. Paul S. Sarbanes, D-Md., are the 1991 recipients of the Chancellor's Medal of the University of Maryland System, the school's highest award for distinguished public service.


Towson State University has awarded scholarships to thfollowing students: Valerie E. Burnette, Rebecca Cole, Catherine Myers Kates and Michael C. Kuo. Brooks P. Jones was awarded a student grant.


A Maryland teen and students from Suitland High School in Forestville were recently chosen 1991 Clairol Spirit of Young America Award winners. Jennifer Brennan, 18, of College Park, organized a daylong Christmas workshop for physically impaired children, which allowed parents to have a day to themselves, while their children were supervised. The Suitland ninth- through 12th-graders created five programs to enable students to help others. The Clairol awards are designed to honor 50 young Americans, who have acted to make their world a better place. There were more than 1,500 nominees this year.

Copyright © 2021, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad