With most teams busy preparing for this weekend's Harford County Wrestling Championships, only one dual meet was contested during the week. Fallston edged Bel Air, 31-30, in the season finale Wednesday night.

The victory gives Fallston a 9-5 season record. "That's the first time we've had nine wins in as long as anyone can remember. And the last time we beat Bel Air was about five or six years ago," Cougarscoach Len Petrey said after the meet, rescheduled because of bad weather in early January.

Although the Cougars won seven of the 13 weight classes, Petrey cited a couple of his younger wrestlers for saving the victory even though they lost their bouts.

Jason Haslbeck (112) and Doug Johnson (189) each denied his more experienced opponent a single point for a major decision. Had each of those Cougars given up one more point, Bel Air would have won the meet.

Haslbeck lost a 7-0 decision to Steve Constable. Johnson got an escape with six seconds left, but dropped a 9-2 decision to Tim Gross.

Fallston freshman Russell Cook finished off the win by pinning Bel Air's Shawn McGraw in 1 minute, 30 seconds in the heavyweight division.

Tom Brazier led off the Cougarswith a victory in the 103-pound class. Brazier decisioned Franklin Jones, 8-5. After Haslbeck's loss, Fallston's Carl Penski (119) decisioned Seth Drum, 6-5.

At 125, Bel Air's Scott Birth pinned Billy Richardson in 5:05. But the Cougars' Derek Schwarz returned the favor at 130 pinning Dave Watts in 25 seconds.

At 135, Fallston's Brian Barnaba decisioned Hana Chong, 12-1, and Max Dodd pinned Bel Air's Kier Thompson in 4:44 at 140. Bel Air's Jeff Allen pinned Greg Arcilesi in 3:16 and Rob Smallwood pinned the Cougars' Eddie Perez in 5:45.

Seedings for the county championships, which were to conclude last night, were announced Thursday night.

Aberdeen, which finished the county season undefeated, had four wrestlers seeded first and three more seeded second. The Eagles, ranked in a three-way tie for 10th by the Maryland State Wrestling Association, were favored to win the team title.

Leading the Eagles was Matt Slutzky, a two-time county and state champion. The junior was seeded first at 135 pounds, where healso is ranked No. 1 by the MSWA.

The Eagles also had Danny Osorio, seeded first at 140 pounds, where he is ranked No. 2 by the MSWA. Todd Jones took the top seed at 145 pounds with Zack Fowl, ranked third by the MSWA at 103 pounds, earning the top spot at 112.

Aberdeen wrestlers earning second seeded spots in their weight classes were Frank Johnson (119), Eric Ratcliff (171) and Aaron Wanless (unlimited).

Edgewood had six wrestlers seeded first or second. Ty Long, ranked second by the MSWA, is first at 103 pounds while Keith Spurlin, ranked fourth by the MSWA, is seeded first at 152 pounds. Both are defending county champs.

Following are other one and two seeds by weight class:

* At 103: 2nd, Tom Brazier, Fallston.

* At 112: 2nd,Minh Dang, Edgewood.

* At 119: 1st, Scott Birth, Bel Air.

* At125: 1st, Jimmy Ervine, Havre de Grace; 2nd, Mike Bunker, Edgewood.

* At 130: 1st, Brian Kocur, Edgewood; 2nd, Derek Schwarz, Fallston.

* At 135: 2nd, Brian Johnson, Harford Vo-Tech.

* At 140: 2nd,Max Dodd, Fallston.

* At 145: 2nd, Jeff Allen, Bel Air.

* At 152: 2nd, Marc Perrine, North Harford.

* At 160: 1st, Dan Gunn, North Harford; 2nd, Tom Burdsall, Havre de Grace.

* At 171: 1st, Lance Sims, Harford Vo- Tech.

* At 189: 1st, Matt Radimer, Fallston; 2nd, Tim Gross, Bel Air.

* At heavyweight: 1st, John Lamancusa, Edgewood.

Copyright © 2021, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad