Owings Mills dominates county teams


Owings Mills' Kenny Gendason, one of five individual champions, was the best example of his team's dominance in yesterday's Baltimore County Wrestling Tournament.

In Gendason's 112-pound title bout, the fifth-ranked senior overcame a 3-0 deficit with his second-period pin of Overlea's defending Class 1A/2A state champion, Kevin Heid (21-3).

"Nothing was working, so I was getting desperate to try anything," said Gendason (21-1), who defeated sixth-ranked Heid earlier in the year. "I headlocked him the last time and he got out. This time, he didn't."

Host Owings Mills (232.5 points) outdistanced second-place Eastern Vocational Tech (117.5), for the title.

The Eagles, ranked No. 2 by the Maryland State Wrestling Association, also broke the meet record for total points -- 207 -- set by EVT in 1986. Before yesterday's finals began, the Eagles had 208 points.

"Eight years ago, I watched EVT win the title at our school with a big crowd watching," said eighth-year coach Guy Pritzger, whose Eagles (14-1 overall, 12-0 against the county) placed 10 of its top 13 wrestlers in the top four. "I remember saying I wish we could have a situation like that. It's been eight long years."

Randallstown's No. 2-ranked 171-pound junior, Mike Jenson (26-0 20 pins), repeated as the county champion, pinning all three of his opponents -- including a 57-second pin in his championship bout.

Jenson, who was third in the state last year, raised his two-year record to 52-1-1.

Overlea's No. 3-ranked heavyweight, John Swigart (24-1), a runner-up last year, used three first-period pins to gain his title. The 220-pound senior with 22 pins is headed for Towson State University on a football scholarship.

Underclassmen champions for Owings Mills were freshman, Gary Harris (103, a 21-1 record), and sophomores, Corey Setlen (119, 18-4), fifth-ranked Gregg Kessler (125, 22-0) and fifth-ranked Grant Johnson (130, 21-1).

Chesapeake's Dave Crickard (152, 16-2) scored a 3-2 upset victory over Owings Mills' fifth-ranked Jason Ricketts (20-2), who had used three first-period pins to reach the finals.

The Eagles' fifth-ranked Eric Rumenap (189, 20-3) dropped a 7-0 decision to Woodlawn's Marcus Powell (20-3). Powell's teammate, Reggie Scott (140, 22-1), also won a title, 1-0, over Loch Raven's Mike Brammer.

EVT's 160-pound Tony Massengill (21-2) overcame a 3-0 first-period deficit for an 8-3 win over Perry Hall's Steve Amenta (16-1-1). Massengill, a county tournament runner-up last year, avenged an earlier 12-4 loss.

Kenwood's 145-pound junior, Brian Persinger (20-2), defeated Dundalk's Bobby Gorsuch (22-2), 4-2. Persinger defeated Owings Mills' Aaron Zuckerberg, 6-5, in the semifinals to avenge an earlier one-point loss.

Dundalk's Rick Staab (135) pinned Pikesville's Mike Malinowski in the second period.

Copyright © 2021, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad