The Carroll Democratic Central Committee has nominated incumbents Leo Kuhn and Elmer Martin to serve another term on the three-member county Board of Election Supervisors.

The committee, which received three applications for the position, also nominated Florence Kersey to serve as an alternate.

The nominations are sent to Gov. William Donald Schaefer, who then will introduce them to the state Senate during the 1991 legislative session for approval, said Greg Pecoraro, committee chairman.

The election board will be made up of two Democrats and one Republican. The composition is determined by the party affiliation of the governor, said Pecoraro. Board members serve a two-year term, beginning in 1991.

The board supervises and runs elections, maintains voter lists, makes equipment purchase decisions and sets policy for elections.

G. Melvin Mills Jr., the Republican member of the board, has been nominated for another term by the Carroll Republican Central Committee. The committee nominated Irene Johnson for another term as alternate.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad