General Assembly Election '90


The 12 Democratic incumbents in Districts 39, 40, 41 and 42 are unopposed.

A contest exists in Northeast Baltimore's District 43, where Republican James Brewster, a conservative with sweeping anti-abortion convictions, is challenging incumbent Democratic Sen. John A. Pica Jr.'s pro-choice policies. After his narrow victory in the primary, Mr. Pica has done much soul-searching. He seems sincere in his pledge to apply himself more diligently to legislative work. We endorse Mr. Pica because he is clearly the better of the two candidates in this race.

In District 43's delegates election, we recommend that voters stay with the incumbent Democrats, Gerald J. Curran, Anne Marie Doory and Henry R. Hergenroeder Jr. over a young Republican challenger, Robert T. Menas.

Democratic Sen. Julian L. Lapides is unopposed in District 44. Republican Duane Frazier is challenging the incumbents, but Dels. Curtis Anderson, Kenneth C. Montague Jr. and Anne Scarlett Perkins have earned re-election.

In District 45, we favor Democratic Sen. Nathan C. Irby Jr. and the rest of the Democratic ticket, Dels. Clarence Davis, John Douglass and Hattie N. Harrison.

In District 46, incumbent Democratic Sen. American Joe Miedusiewski is without opposition, as are his running mates, Dels. Anthony M. DiPietro Jr., Cornell N. Dypski and Carolyn Krysiak.

For South Baltimore's District 47, we endorse Republican Michael L. Burgess over newly appointed Del. Brian K. McHale, who emerged as a single-interest delegate for the longshoremen's union in Annapolis. We urge voters to retain the two longtime Democratic incumbents, R. Charles Avara and Paul E. Weisengoff. Sen. George W. Della Jr., a Democrat, is unopposed.

Copyright © 2020, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad