The seeding for the state softball tournament was announced on Tuesday morning.
The seeding for the state softball tournament was announced on Tuesday morning. (Matt Hazlett / Baltimore Sun Media Group)

The seeds for the MPSSAA regional round of this year's softball tournament were released on Tuesday morning, with Howard County's 12 public school teams divided up between the 4A North, 3A East and 2A West regions.

The first round of the playoffs are scheduled to begin on Thursday, May 12 with the better-seeded squad serving as the home team in all match-ups.


County-champion Howard is the lone team in 4A North, earning the second seed in Section II behind top-seeded Sherwood, which has won four straight state championships. The Lions have a first-round bye and will host the winner of Western and Springbrook next Monday, May 16.

In 3A East, Mt. Hebron is the top seed in Section I and Northeast-AA is the top seed in Section II. Both of those No. 1 seeds have received byes, along with second-seeded Chesapeake-AA in Section II.

Section I of 3A East features all Howard County teams. Glenelg is the second seed, Long Reach third, Centennial fourth, Reservoir fifth, River Hill sixth and Wilde Lake seventh. The opening-round games pit Glenelg against Wilde Lake, Long Reach against River Hill and Centennial against Reservoir.

On the other side, in Section II, Atholton is seeded third and Hammond sixth. The Raiders will host the Golden Bears in the opening round.

Marriotts Ridge and Oakland Mills are in Section II of 2A West, with the Mustangs earning the third seed and the Scorpions the seventh seed. Marriotts Ridge hosts Winters Mill on Thursday, while Oakland Mills travels to take on South Carroll.

The Region finals are scheduled for Friday, May 20, and the winners will then advance to the state semifinals at Bachman Softball Park on May 24.

The full seed breakdown for the regions involving Howard County teams is as follows:

4A North

Section I: 1. Perry Hall; 2. Dulaney; 3. Catonsville; 4. Bel Air; 5. Parkville; 6. Kenwood.

Section II: 1. Sherwood; 2. Howard; 3. Western; 4. Paint Branch; 5. Mergenthaler; 6. Springbrook.

3A East

Section I: 1. Mt Hebron; 2. Glenelg; 3. Long Reach; 4. Centennial; 5. Reservoir; 6. River Hill; 7. Wilde Lake.

Section II: 1. Northeast; 2. Chesapeake-AA; 3. Atholton; 4. JM Bennett; 5. Stephen Decatur; 6. Hammond.

2A West


Section I: 1. Mountain Ridge; 2. Middletown; 3. Catoctin; 4. Walkersville; 5. Williamsport.

Section II: 1. Liberty; 2. South Carroll; 3. Marriotts Ridge; 4. Francis Scott Key; 5. Century; 6. Winters Mill; 7. Oakland Mills.