Howard County Times
Howard County Sports

Finals set for Howard County wrestling tournament

Glenelg's Jared Thomas, top, wrestles Atholton's Derek Noppinger during the 2017 Howard County wrestling tournament at River Hill. Thomas is in the finals for the second straight year.

Howard County, MD — All 14 No. 1 seeds advanced to the finals at the Howard County wrestling tournament at Mt. Hebron on Friday. The No. 2 seeds, however, didn’t fare quite as well, with five falling in the semifinal round.

Two-time defending county tournament champions Glenelg has a comfortable 20-point lead with 187 points after the semifinal round. Oakland Mills (167 points) sits in second ahead of Mt. Hebron (163), Hammond (141), Marriotts Ridge (138.5), Atholton (137.5), River Hill (132.5), Reservoir (76), Centennial (68.5), Howard (49), Long Reach (34) and Wilde Lake (11).


Both the Gladiators and Raiders have five finalists. Logan Gwin (113 pounds), Jared Thomas (132), Jacob Jones (160), Sam Alsheimer (182) and Max Sotka (170) all moved into the championship to defend their county titles.

Drew Pruett (106), David Panda (113), Stephen Frazier (145), Sean Billups (170) and Miles Easterling (220) are finalists for Atholton. Easterling is looking to win his second-straight title, while Pruett and Billups were finalists a year ago.


Marriotts Ridge pushed four into the finals — Austin Manwiller (106), Ethan Bohan (120), Brett Gladstone (132) and Austin Cestone (195). Manwiller, the No. 6 seed, upset No. 3 seed Chris Lee of Centennial in the quarterfinals and No. 2 seed Eric Robinson of River Hill and is the lowest seeded grappler in the finals.

Mt. Hebron has three finalists in Yahir Lemus (120), Ali Pender (152) and Nick Nordhausen (285), and River Hill also has three — Will Henrickson (126), Zach Wasilewski (182) and Alex Wasilewski (195).

Oakland Mills senior Kyle Farace (126) is in the finals for the fourth straight year and is looking to win his second straight title. Anthony Morales (160) is also in the championship match.

Hammond’s Loic Tueguo (220) and Justin Andrews (285) will be looking to become the program’s first county champion since Jeremy Nelson in 2015.

Centennial junior Jason Kraisser (145) is in his third county finals and is aiming to become the 25th wrestler to win three Howard County titles. Jacob Blyukher (138) is the Eagles’ other finalist.

Reservoir senior Todd Del Tufo (152) is looking to keep the Gators’ streak of years with a county champion alive. They have had at least one county champion every year since 2008.

Howard sophomore Shayan Kassiri (138) is looking to become the Lions’ first county champion since Jared Rodriguez in 2014 and the third since assistant coach Kris Dutt won in 2009.


106: No. 1 seed Drew Pruett (A) pinned No. 5 Shehzan Dayha (Ha), 1:57


No. 6 Austin Manwiller (MR) dec. No. 2 Eric Robinson (RH), 7-6

113: No. 1 Logan Gwin (G) dec. No. 4 Jonah Richardson (RH), 14-11

No. 3 David Panda (A) dec. No. 2 Jalen Cornelius (OM), 11-5

120: No. 1 Ethan Bohan (MR) pinned No. 4 Brayan Rios (Ha), 3:32

No. 3 Yahir Lemus (MH) dec. No. 2 Kevin Hansberger (G), 3-2

126: No. 1 Kyle Farace (OM) pinned No. 4 John Lian (Ha), 0:43


No. 3 Will Henrickson (RH) pinned No. 2 Brad Foote (Ho), 0:28

132: No. 1 Jared Thomas (G) pinned No. 5 Adam Scherr (MH). 2:45

No. 2 Brett Gladstone (MR) dec. No. 6 Quan Dunscomb (OM), 7-3

138: No. 1 Jacob Blyukher (C) major dec. No. 5 Bryce Kampert (MH), 9-0

No. 2 Shayan Kassiri (Ho) major dec. No. 6 Ian Gwin (G), 14-1

145: No. 1 Jason Kraisser (C) pinned No. 4 Jake Fratta (MR), 0:41


No. 2 Stephen Frazier (A) dec. No. 3 Jamison Hulbert (MH), 5-0

152: No. 1 Ali Pender (MH) major dec. No. 4 Dylan Watt (OM), 13-4

No. 2 Todd Del Tufo (Re) dec. No. 3 Drew Sotka (G), 6-1

160: No. 1 Jacob Jones (G) major dec. No. 4 Kevin Childress (Ha), 14-1

No. 2 Anthony Morales (OM) dec. No. 3 Justin Hooper (MR), 11-9

170: No. 1 Sean Billups (A) pinned No. 4 Rocco DelPo (OM), 1:51


No. 2 Max Sotka (G) dec. No. 3 Jordan Davis (Ha), 4-3

182: No. 1 Sam Alsheimer (G) major dec. No. 4 Tyler Walters (Ha), 13-2

Howard County Times: Top stories


Daily highlights from Howard County's number one source for local news.

No. 2 Zach Wasilewski (RH) dec. No. 3 Mulbah Kamara (OM), 3-1

195: No. 1 Austin Cestone (MR) pinned No. 5 Jake Witlin (MH), 1:01

No. 3 Alex Wasilewski (RH) dec. No. 2 Ernie Smith (OM), 3-1

220: No. 1 Loic Tueguo (Ha) pinned No. 5 Jack Baxter (MR), 2:40


No. 2 Miles Easterling (A) pinned No. 3 Robbie Baxter (G), 3:38

285: No. 1 Nick Nordhausen (MH) pinned No. 4 Dante Hooker (OM), 1:55

No. 2 Justin Andrews (Ha) dec. No. 3 Kai Uecker (RH), 8-5