Pairings announced for opening rounds of 2018 state championship golf tournament

Pairings announced for opening rounds of 2018 state championship golf tournament
Golfers putt on the eighth (left) and first hole during the Maryland State Tournament at the University of Maryland Golf Course in College Park during this file photo taken on Monday, November 2, 2015. (Matt Hazlett / Baltimore Sun Media Group)

The hole assignments were released on Wednesday evening by the Maryland Public Secondary Schools Association for this year’s state championship golf tournament, which is scheduled for Oct. 22-24 at the University of Maryland Golf Course.

The 3A/4A teams and individuals are scheduled to start things on Monday, while the 1A/2A teams and individuals will follow on Tuesday. After cuts are made, all qualifying golfers will return on Wednesday for the final round.


All three rounds will start at 9 a.m. under a shotgun start, with the opening rounds featuring plenty of representation from Howard County’s top players.

In 3A/4A, Centennial qualified as a team after firing a combined score of 332 at the District V tournament. Kenny Chaplain is the team’s top-seeded boys player, slotted into the group set to tee off on hole 16A. Morgan Taylor, meanwhile, is the team’s top female and will tee off on hole 7A.

The Eagles other two players are Ty Sams (5) and Klaus Wood (4B).

Other qualifiers for Monday outside of Centennial include Atholton’s Branden Nguyen (starts on hole 16B), Reservoir’s Justin Gutierrez (12A) and Howard’s Jason Wheeler (12B). Howard’s Logan Lurie (6A) also qualified as an individual on the girls side.

The majority of the Howard County players, though, are slated to tee off on the second day as part of the 1A/2A classification.

Marriotts Ridge, which is looking to extend its state-record consecutive state championship winning streak to seven this fall, was the top team at the District V tournament with a combined total of 306.

The Mustangs have the top seeded overall girl in Faith McIlvain, who won districts with a one-under-par round of 71 and tees off on 10A. The team’s other three players in regards to team score are Justin Allen (starts on hole 17B), Isaac Kim (17A) and Akash Marakath (16), while Manny Guillen (15) also will be representing Marriotts Ridge as an individual.

River Hill also qualified as a team with a score of 313 at districts and will feature a scoring line-up of Kevin Hickey (starts on hole 1B), Jackson Graves (18), Cam Deiuliis (16) and Robbie Graham (15). The Hawks will also be represented by Adrienne Lesho, who qualified as an individual and will tee off on hole 9.

Also playing Tuesday will be district champion Caleb Taylor of Glenelg, who will tee off in the top-seeded group going off 1A after firing an even-par round of 72 two weeks ago at the district tournament. Oakland Mills’ Adam Fairbanks will compete as an individual as well, teeing off on 17A.

Hole assignments with Howard County golfers (qualifying score in parentheses)


Hole 16A: Kenneth Chaplain, Centennial (76); Eddie Sarrach, South River (76); Frank Sallese, Perry Hall (76); Aaron Sorkin, Westminster (77).

16B: Branden Nguyen, Atholton (77); Joey Fidyk, South River (77); Ryan Walsh, Towson (77); Cory Campbell, Westminster (78).

12A: Justin Gutierrez, Reservoir (81); Colin Kurcoba, Perry Hall (81); Jaeger Frost, Walter Johnson (81); Jacob Ferrari, Urbana (82).


12B: Jason Wheeler, Howard (82); Mason Jones, South River (82); Josh Stocum, Bel Air (82); Kesh Khanna, B-CC (83).

7A: Shoshana Zuck, Magruder (82); Colby Reeder, Whitman (85); Carla Rose, Roosevelt (85); Morgan Taylor, Centennial (85).

6A: Belen Floreza, Churchill (90); Logan Lurie, Howard (90); Upaasna Yadav, Richard Montgomery (91); Tai Better, Bowie (91).

5: Chandler Kuhn, Whitman (83); Hayden Snelsire, Stephen Decatur (83); Ty Sams, Centennial (84); Kyle Bull, Perry Hall (84).

4B: Connor Hackett, Arundel (85); Klaus Wood, Centennial (87); Jared Clelland, Bel Air (91).


Hole 1A: Chris Lee, Oakdale (70); Ryan Stankewicz, South Carroll (71); Liam Wolf, Century (72); Caleb Taylor, Glenelg (72).

1B: Brandon Hill, Southern-Garrett (74); Emil Serafin, Winters Mill (74); Joey Weiland, Middletown (75); Kevin Hickey, River Hill (75).

18: Brian Inglis, Winters Mill (75); Jackson Graves, River Hill (75); William Creery, Fallston, (76); Gavin Greer, Liberty (77).

17A: Jaxson Schultz, Boonsboro (78); Nick Amateau, South Carroll (78); Isaac Kim, Marriotts Ridge (78); Adam Fairbanks, Oakland Mills (78).

17B: Justin Allen, Marriotts Ridge (78); Gavin Ganter, LaPlata (78); Justin Bishop, Hereford (79); Mitchell Walz, Patterson Mill (80).

16: Akash Marakath, Marriotts Ridge (79); Joe Lesage, Oakdale (81); Cam Deiuliis, River Hill (81); Mac Tiller, Hereford (82).

15: Cam Clark, Oakdale (81); Manny Guillen, Marriotts Ridge (81); Robbie Graham, River Hill (82); Will Smethurst, Bohemia Manor (82).

10A: Faith McIlvain, Marriotts Ridge (71); Holly Haber, Kent Island (74); Paula Moon, Patterson Mill (80); Anna Lime, Hereford (82).

9: Adrienne Lesho, River Hill (88); Kamika Pichakul, Carver (88); Suzanna Martin, Century (91).