The MPSSAA boys lacrosse playoff brackets have been released.
The MPSSAA boys lacrosse playoff brackets have been released. (File photo by Jon Sham)

With the regular season over, the MPSSAA playoff brackets have been released. Two county teams – Mt. Hebron and River Hill – earned the top seed in its respective section, while undefeated Howard lost a coin flip and is seeded second behind Westminster in the 4A/3A North region, Section I.

Howard did everything they could this season as they finished the regular season 11-0 in county and 14-0 overall, but undefeated Westminster won the coin flip to take the top seed. The Lions will host Linganore on Friday.


Reservoir, also in Section I with Howard, is seeded fifth and will travel to Tuscarora on Wednesday for a chance to face Westminster on Friday.

The 3A/2A South region is loaded with nine county teams. Mt. Hebron, which finished the season 13-1, is the top seed in Section I, while Glenelg is seeded second. Marriotts Ridge and Centennial will face off on Wednesday for a chance to face Mt. Hebron on Friday.

In Section II, River Hill, which finished the season 8-4 overall, is the top seed, while Atholton (6-5, 7-7) is the No. 2 seed. Wilde Lake will face Hammond on Wednesday, and Long Reach will travel to Northeast (AA) the same day.

Oakland Mills, the only 2A/1A team in the county, will travel to Manchester Valley Wednesday. The winner will face top-seeded Liberty, which beat Centennial April 2, on Friday.

Sectional finals will be played May 11, while regional finals will be on May 13.

The 4A/3A state semifinals will be at Northeast (AA) High School May 15 or 16; the 3A/2A state semifinals will be at Annapolis High School May 15 or 16; and the 2A/1A state semifinals will be at Bel Air High School May 15 or 16.

Final league standings: Howard (11-0 county, 14-0 overall); Mt. Hebron (10-1, 13-1); Glenelg (9-2, 9-4); River Hill (8-3, 8-4); Marriotts Ridge (7-4, 10-4); Atholton (6-5, 7-7); Centennial (5-6, 5-8); Reservoir (4-7, 6-8); Wilde Lake (3-8, 4-10); Oakland Mills (2-9, 3-9); Long Reach (1-10, 2-11); Hammond (0-11, 0-12).

Playoff seeds: 4A/3A North: Section I: 1. Westminster; 2. Howard; 3. Linganore; 4. Tuscarora; 5. Reservoir. Section II: 1. Blake; 2. Springbrook; 3. Sherwood; 4. Montgomery Blair; 5. Kennedy; 6. Paint Branch.

3A/2A South: Section I: 1. Mt. Hebron; 2. Glenelg; 3. Century; 4. Marriotts Ridge; 5. Centennial; 6. Winters Mill. Section II: 1. River Hill; 2. Atholton; 3. Wilde Lake; 4. Northeast (AA); 5. Long Reach; 6. Hammond.

2A/1A West: Section I: 1. Liberty; 2. North Carroll; 3. South Carroll; 4. Manchester Valley; 5. Oakland Mills; 6. Francis Scott Key. Section II: 1. Southern (AA); 2. Carver Vo-Tech; 3. Douglass; 4. Bluford Drew Jemison; 5. Northwestern; 6. Forest Park.