Three middle schoolers win Carson scholarships [Glenwood/Glenelg/Dayton]

Congratulations to the 2014 winners of the Carson Scholars Fund Scholarship program from Folly Quarter Middle School and Glenwood Middle School.

The Carson Scholars Fund is a nonprofit organization founded by Dr. Benjamin S. Carson, and his wife, Candy, to recognize and reward students who perform at the highest level academically, and also display strong humanitarian qualities.


Anastasia Lesho is a seventh grader from Folly Quarter who has been recognized by the Carson Scholars Fund for three years. Folly Quarter eighth grader Sophie Shen and Glenwood Middle School eighth grader Anushka Desai are first-time winners of the $1,000 scholarship.

Anastasia, Sophie and Anushka will be recognized at the Carson Scholars Fund annual awards banquet on Sunday, April 6, with commemorative pins and certificates. The names of all three students will be added to the permanent trophies which are kept by each school. Congratulations to these outstanding young women.

Laura McAllister, an eighth grader at Folly Quarter Middle School, received the prestigious Dr. Lynn Collins Award in Mathematics for her outstanding work in the Howard County Public School System's annual Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics Fair on March 1 at Long Reach High School. Laura received the award for her STEM project and presentation entitled, "Who's Going Through Your Emails?"

Claire Waddington will represent Folly Quarter at the state level of the National Geographic Bee, which will be held on Friday, April 4.

Abigail Jones, a sixth grade student at Glenwood, received first place recognition in the Young Authors Contest sponsored by the Howard County Reading Council. Abigail was invited to read her poem, entitled "Mirror Images," at a celebration at Barnes & Noble bookstore.

Glenwood Middle School was well represented at the Howard County History Day competition. Aaron Ortwein developed and presented a website on "The Injustice of Jim Crow." Graham Dilworth presented a documentary on "The Pentagon Papers," which placed third in the individual documentary class. Both Justin Drewer's documentary on "Salute," and Collin Finnan's website on "Medical Tissue Research," placed first in their categories, and will be entered in the state competition at UMBC in May.

Do you remember the number Pi (3.14 …), which describes the ratio of a circle's circumference to its diameter? For many years Glenelg High School students have celebrated Pi Day on March 14 by bringing pies to school. Some of the pies are consumed during math classes that day, and many are donated to Grassroots of Howard County.

This year the math teachers decided that the number of donated pies was overwhelming Grassroots, so they asked some of the students to bring canned goods instead of pies. The students responded by collecting and donating over 330 pies to Grassroots and over 1,500 canned goods to the Howard County Food Bank. Glenelg students are amazing.

Congratulations to the Glenelg Dance Team for its first place win in Poms at the 2014 Maryland State Championships. Originally it was reported that they placed second in the competition, but there was a math error, and the team actually tied for first.

Congratulations also to team members Jennifer Landry, Gabrielle Mirabile and Christian Waksmunski on their induction into the 2014 National Honor Society for Dance Arts, and Sydney Moore, Lauren Roche and Lauren Vagnoni for receiving the 2014 National Honor Society for Dance Arts Star Award.

Five Dayton skaters will be performing in the Columbia Figure Skating Club's spring production entitled "Frozen in Time — On Ice" during the weekend of Saturday, April 5, and Sunday, April 6. Jeni and Miriam Auerbach, Megan Lydon, Ava Suko and Esther Xu will be enacting fairy tales by Hans Christian Anderson and Walt Disney, as well as a few scenes from "Les Miserables."

Performances will be held at the Columbia Ice Rink at 5876 Thunder Hill Road on Saturday, April 5, at 3 and 6 p.m., and on Sunday, April 6, at 2 and 4:30 p.m. More information is available at the club's website: