Three wrestling teams alive for region dual meet championships

Three wrestling teams alive for region dual meet championships
It was just a couple of weeks ago, Bel Air and Grant Cole, pictured above, rolled over C. Milton Wright in a dual meet. The two could meet again Wednesday night for the region title. (Matt Button / Aegis Staff / Baltimore Sun Media Group)

The regular season for wrestlers has all but finished up, but for three teams, the dual meet postseason is about to get started.

Bel Air, C. Milton Wright and Patterson Mill have all qualified for region dual meet tournaments scheduled for today (Wednesday).


Bel Air is the top seed and host in Class 3A North. The Bobcats will battle fourth seed Franklin, while second seed CMW will tangle with third seed Kenwood in a pair of semifinals.

Patterson Mill is the top seed and host in 1A East. The Huskies will take on fourth seed Cambridge-South Dorchester, while second seed Mardela will battle third seed Colonel Richardson.

The semifinal action starts at 5:30 p.m. at both schools with winners meeting for the region title at 7:30 p.m.

The champions will compete in the State Dual Meet Championships at North Point High School in Waldorf this Saturday. Class 1A and 2A kick things off at noon with all of their semifinal matches wrestled simultaneously. Class 3A and 4A follows with all of their semifinal matches at 2 p.m. The Class 1A and 2A finals will be held on two mats beginning at 4 p.m. and the day concludes with the Class 3A and 4A finals at 6:30 p.m.

Huskies clinch home mat

Patterson Mill needed one win last week to clinch the home mat for the region duals. The Huskies got the win over Havre de Grace in a tri-meet at CMW on Thursday.

Patterson Mill beat Havre de Grace, 39-34, while CMW beat Pattweronm Mill, 48-18, and Havre de Grace, 54-21.

In Patterson Mill’s win, the Warriors forfeited four weight classes which led to the Huskies win.

Ayden Boyd got a forfeit for Havre de Grace at 106 pounds to get the meet started. Kyle Pulket then pinned Tyler Armstead-Ferebee in :53 at 113 to pull the Huskies even. The Huskies then won the next four matches by forfeit. Winners were Tony Athanasiou, 120; Isaac Leighton, 126; Lucas Cooper, 132; and Ethan Harvey, 138.

Gavin Lloyd added a win at 145 for Havre de Grace, edging Brian Wheatley, 5-3. Kevin Le of Patterson Mill then pinned Rebekah Flower in :31 at 152.

Havre de Grace then won all but one of the remaining six matches. At 160, Michael Sweigart pinned Alex Sweaney in 5:04 and Ben Long followed at 170, pinning Adian McCully in 1:38.

Christopher Boyd added another Warriors win at 182, beating Tristin LaFave by 13-0 major decision.

The lone Huskies win came at 195, with Connor Morton beating Quinten Bushyager, 8-1.

At 220, Havre de Grace’s Skylar Lindsay won a 4-1 tiebreaker over Will Gileza at at 285, Warrior Jesse Fenner pinned Mason Sprinkel at the 2:58 mark.


Mustangs beat Huskies

The Mustangs grabbed control early with four wins and a 22-0 lead.

Demetrios Gourgoulianis won a forfeit at 106 and brother Constantinos Gourgoulianis won a 14-2 major decision over Pulket at 113.

James Riveira then pinned Athanasiou in 1:47 at 120 and Juan Ortega pinned Leighton in 3:30 at 126.

Harvey got Patterson Mill’s first win at 132, beating Carter Goscinski, 11-4. At 138, Jake Blanchard added another CMW win over Wheatley, 4-0. Mark Hopkins also won for CMW at 145, beating Matt Williams 12-2 for a major decision.

Sweaney got a win for the Huskies at 152, pinning Andrew Van Syckle in 5:12 and at 160, Le also won for the Huskies, winning over Kenny Frank, 6-3.

The Mustangs then won four of the final five bouts. Logan Dvorak won 13-6 over Aiden McCully at 170 and Trey Lindsey pinned LaFave in 1:07 at 182.

Theodore Stinson of CMW won by default over Morton at 195. Will Gileza won the final Patterson Mill match at 220, pinning Cameron Wood in 4:04. CMW’s Sawyer Sturla then cloed the meet at 285, winning an 8-0 major decision over Sprinkel.

Mustangs beat Warriors

The Mustangs got pins from Demetrios (106) and Constantinos (113) Gourgoulianis before four forfeits kicked in for Riveira, 120; Ortega, 126; Goscinski, 132; and Blanchard, 138.

Lloyd stopped the run for Havre de Grace at 145, beating Hopkins, 10-3.

Van Syckle pinned for CMW at 152 over Flower in :57. Sweigart added a second Havre de Grace win at 160, pinning Samuel in 3:35. Long also pinned at 170, stopping Dvorak in 2:28.

At 182, Stinson won by default over Boyd and at 195, Lindsey pinned Bushyager in 4:14. Keishawn Torres added a Warriors win at 220, pinning Wood in 3:09, while at 285, Sturla edged Fenner, 2-1.