The Aegis
Harford County

Harford's Norman joins Senate judicial proceedings, court rules panels

State Sen. Wayne Norman, who represents Harford and Cecil counties, has received two significant committee assignments in his first 30 days as a senator.

A Republican, Norman is the senior minority member of the Judicial Proceedings Committee and the Senate's sole representative on the Maryland Court of Appeals' Standing Committee on Rules of Practice and Procedure, known commonly as the Rules Committee.


The Judicial Proceedings Committee is one of four standing committees in the Maryland Senate and has jurisdiction over all legislation related to Maryland's judicial and criminal justice systems, constitutional amendments and multiple areas of civil and corporate law.

"It's not every day a freshman senator becomes the ranking member of a major committee in the State Senate," Minority Leader Sen. J.B. Jennings, who represents Harford and Baltimore counties, said in a statement. "Senator Norman's selection is based on his subject matter knowledge, his experience as an attorney in private practice and his acumen as a legislator."


The Rules Committee assists the Court of Appeals, the state's highest court, in establishing the rules of practice and procedure that judges and attorneys must follow in Maryland's trial and appellate courts. Norman joins lawyers, judges and others versed in judicial practice, procedures or administration who serve on the committee.

"As an attorney representing small business owners and average citizens for over 30 years, it is quite an honor to hold two state-level positions that have such a profound impact on the legal profession and the fair and efficient administration of justice in Maryland," Norman said in a news release. "I am humbled to receive these assignments and, as always, will work extremely hard as a public servant and with my constituents in mind in carrying out these responsibilities."

Norman, a lawyer from the Bel Air area, was elected to the State Senate in November after serving seven years in the House of Delegates. His 35th Legislative District covers north central and northeastern Harford County and western Cecil County.