The Harford County State's Attorney's Office recently honored top area law enforcement officers who made outstanding drunk and drugged driving arrests in 2013.

The annual award ceremony was held April 30 in the Harford County Courthouse's ceremonial courtroom. The ceremony also recognized Drug Recognition Experts, or DREs, who are instrumental in arrests of drugged drivers.


"Our law enforcement officers are the best in their efforts to maintain safety on the county's roads," Harford State's Attorney Joseph Cassilly said in statement. "They are responsible for saving many lives and sparing families the devastation caused by impaired drivers. Harford County is proud to acknowledge their service."

Those who were honored, by agency, are as follows. An asterisk donates a repeat honoree:

Maryland State Police Bel Air Barrack: Tpr. Stephen K. Whittenberg, 38 arrests* (Trooper of the Year); Tfc. Steven T. Muehl, 22 arrests*; Tpr. Rebekah J. Lipsky, 19 arrests; Tfc. Matthew T. McWilliams, 16 arrests; and Tfc. David D. Stanley, 16 arrests*.

Maryland State Police JFK Highway Barrack: Cpl. Jonathan Novack, 59 arrests; Tfc. Marvin Harrison, 54 arrests*; Tpr. Victor Taylor, 46 arrests; Tpr. Timothy Erstling, 37 arrests; and Tpr. Derek White, 25 arrests.

Harford County Sheriff's Office: Dfc. Anthony Isgro, 21 arrests*; Dfc. Christopher Maddox, 20 arrests*; Dfc. John Miner Sr., 18 arrests* (24 years in the top five); Cpl. Grant Krulock, 12 arrests*; Dfc. Nate Gerres, 12 arrests*; and Dfc. Christopher Majewski, 12 arrests* (DRE).

Maryland Transportation Authority Police: Ofc. Gregory Sampson, 20 arrests*; Ofc. Timothy Howell, nine arrests*; Ofc. Dylan Dvorak, six arrests; Cpl. Emory Williams, seven arrests*; and Ofc. Andre Fontz, five arrests* (DRE).

Bel Air Police Department: Cpl. Matthew F. Gullion, 15 arrests*; Ofc. A.J. Maro, seven arrests; and Sgt. Robert E. Pfarr, six arrests* (DRE).

Havre de Grace Police Department: Pfc. Aaron Sandruck, 14 arrests* (DRE); Pfc. Brian Daniels, 10 arrests*; Pfc. John Sova, five arrests*; and Pfc. Anthony Molesky, five arrests.

Aberdeen Police Department: Ofc. Michael Soler, eight arrests*; and Ofc. Jeanette Giganti, six arrests*.

The Harford County State's Attorney's Office has been active in the annual DWI Law Enforcement Recognition Awards for the past 24 years and has supported the outstanding work of each officer, Cassilly said.