The Aegis
Harford County

Top Cesky scholarship winners for 2015 named Wednesday

C. Milton Wright High School's Lauren O'Mara and John Carroll School's Tim Kutcher were named the female and male recipients of a $5,000 scholarship from the Al Cesky Scholarship Fund Wednesday evening.

O'Mara and Kutcher were among 24 Harford County high school seniors honored by the Al Cesky Scholarship Fund, named for the late Bel Air High School coach, educator and Harford County Public Schools administrator Al Cesky, during the annual banquet Wednesday night at Richlin Ballroom in Edgewood. The other 22 winners will each receive $2,000 scholarships.


O'Mara is the fourth consecutive female student athlete from the Bel Air-area school to earn the scholarship. Maggie Gallagher was the female winner in 2014, Abigail Smucker won the scholarship in 2013 and Danielle King won it in 2012.

The 17-year-old from Bel Air said after the banquet the scholarship win is "a huge honor."


She acknowledged her friends and former schoolmates, Gallagher and Smucker.

"They were huge role models," she said.

Kutcher played baseball and volleyball and swam for John Carroll. He plans to attend Johns Hopkins University, where he will study computer science.

"I really think this award stands for something really important," the 18-year-old Forest Hill resident said. "It's not just any award; I think it has a lot of principles behind it that are good life lessons, and I think Coach Cesky is, from what I've learned, a great person to build this award off of."

O'Mara, who played soccer and lacrosse and swam at C. Milton Wright, plans to attend the University of Pennsylvania, where she will study biology.

During her speech, she thanked the Cesky Fund, her teammates, coaches and parents, and she gave special thanks to her twin sister, Julia, who is also a student athlete at CMW and like, Lauren, headed for Penn.

"I wish you were up here standing next to me right now, but we are sharing this moment," Lauren said. "We did this together."

Kutcher noted in his speech that good athletes – and people – makes themselves better, but great athletes and people make those around them better.


"I think that's what this award embodies, and that's what Coach Cesky embodied," Kutcher said.

Wednesday's event was the 30th annual Cesky scholarship awards banquet. More than $900,000 in scholarships has been awarded to nearly 600 students since the banquets started in 1986, according to emcee Scott Garceau.

Garceau, a Harford County resident, spent 28 years as a sportscaster with WMAR-TV, and he co-hosts an afternoon radio sports talk show on 105.7 The Fan.

The Aegis: Top stories

The Aegis: Top stories


Daily highlights from Harford County's number one source for local news.

Garceau said he talks about a lot of "knuckleheads" in sports during the show, but he stressed that the 24 honorees would not become knuckleheads.

"You'll be treasured members, leaders, of your communities, and you'll continue to do the things that got you here tonight," he said.

The 22 other scholarship winners included Annelise Beer and Casey Brown, of Havre de Grace High School; Shannon Conlon, of Harford Technical High School; Owen Smith, of Aberdeen High School; Shannon Williams, of Bel Air High School; Patrick Coward, of Harford Tech; Susanna Edwards and Paul Franco, of Harford Christian School; Samantha Herman, of Patterson Mill High School; Shelby Johnson and Dale Marx, of Joppatowne High School; Shannon Bowman, of Edgewood High School; Matt Claffee, of Fallston High School; Chantae Simms, of John Carroll; Andrew Visconti, of Bel Air High; James Natoli, of C. Milton Wright High School; Katie Lindsay, of Aberdeen High; Evan Siegel, of North Harford High School; Sophie Pinton, of Fallston High; Alex Poniatowski, of Edgewood High; Jake Nikkila, of Patterson Mill; and Meghan O'Donnell, of North Harford.


Sean McCone, who won the Cesky award in 1995 and is a board member and past president of the Cesky Fund, was the guest speaker for the banquet. He is an engineer and vice president with Johnson, Mirmiran & Thompson Inc., a Baltimore County-based architectural and engineering firm.

He is also a graduate of Havre de Grace High School and a resident of Anne Arundel County.

"When you're faced with adversity, remember to keep your integrity," McCone told the honorees.

Two longtime supporters of the Cesky Fund, Charles "Bud" Ramsay Jr. and Edward Plummer Jr., received lifetime memberships with the fund during the banquet.